We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'hidden gem' in the accomodation of the Cape's Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Ranked #19 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B&B is a must for anyone wanting accommodation in Plettenberg Bay. Your hostess, Pam greats you with a genuinely warm welcome AND a relaxing glass of wine. She is super helpful regarding planning your time in Plett and beyond.

The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. After watching the sun coming up on the balcony, we went for a stroll on the beach followed by a delicious breakfast on the balcony watching whales frolicking in the bay. Pure magic.

Room Tip: All rooms open onto the balcony from which to view the sun rising and setting, the whales and porpoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraRogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

we stayed their for 3 nights ... it was amazing. felt (even better) like home and we can recommend it to everybody. nice and huge room, delicious breakfast, the view is outstanding and Pam is the most courteous and endearing person we've ever had as host.

comming back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed there with my wife and 7 year old for 2 nights. Very nice location right on the beachy road, sea view room as promised . All the rooms opening up the front deck where breakfast is served if the weather is good. Nice living room with TV and Wi-Fi. The rooms are well maintained and the host Pam is an excellent and hospitable lady

One suggestion would be to improve on the breakfast spread and quality a bit. The mushrooms on the side were not sauted properly and cereal options can be increased. Also a couple of more variety of breads could be offered. Cheese was missing

But overall loved our stay there and would recomment this place hands down

Room Tip: I think Dolphin rooms are bigger and a full window opening one the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Pam is a charming and wonderful host who goes out of her way to accommodate each of her guest's demands and requirements. We had a great time exploring Plett from there and loved our 2 nights. Amazing views over the entire bay and close to everything.
Breakfast is served on the terrace if the weather permits which is an added bonus. Rooms are clean, spacious and bright.
Plettenburg is a great place to spend some days and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We came for a night and were lucky to be able to extend our stay to 3 nights.
This is a perfect beach front property located virtually on the beach with easy access to all the attractions of Plettenberg Bay.
The room was extremely comfortably furnished with great sea views.
The spacious common deck area also has great views and is ideal for meeting other visitors.
The breakfasts, with the nice touch of country of origin table flags, were perfect.
The staff were very friendly and efficient and it was a bonus that the caretaker was a qualified birding guide

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Pam is a really friendly and hearty host with a tremendous knowledge of good walking trails in Tsitsikamma or Robberg Island. You don't need a guide, she knows it all. The guesthouse is almost at the beach and from the terrace you have a fantastic view over the bay and to Robberg Island. The rooms are spacious. The furniture is not state of the art but it is very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were very impressed with our accommodation at the Dolphins Playground Beachfront B&B in Plettenberg Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Located near the beach, our ocean view suite was tastefully and comfortably furnished, the large beautiful patio offered panoramic ocean views, and the hot and cold breakfast choices were a traveller’s delight. Pam, our hostess and her staff provided excellent services, and the next time we are in Plettenberg Bay we will definitely stay at the Dolphin’s Playground B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Operakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
760 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#15 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
291 reviews
1.5 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Address: 3 Tillamook Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $76 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing