We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as it has been said”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Ranked #17 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just as it has been said”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I can only but reinforce and concur with all of the positive comments made by others in their reviews.

Lovely friendly welcome from host Pam who was helpful throughout our stay. Very clean and comfy room. Great view, much enjoyed during breakfast. Good location for touring with a short walk to the beach where we did not swim but got bashed by the waves - all good fun.

Minor down side in that internet connection was not good in the room but hey on holiday not checking emails.

Highly recommend to others considering a stay at Plett and would have no reservations about returning.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjwinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Friendly and warm welcome from Pam and nothing was too much trouble.Yummy cooked breakfasts on the deck, with a little flag representing our country of origin - lovely touch! We had the Whale room, beautifully furnished and with views out to sea. A laundry service was available and much appreciated as was the car wash , done without us even asking. Close to a pathway straight onto the long, white beach for walks and talks. Pam gave us heaps of advice on where to eat and what to do, including a hike on Robberg Island which we highly recommend. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We loved the views from the Whale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We made a reservation at the Dolphin's Playground because it is ideally located to do the Robberg hikings. But when we arrived it was immediately obvious that this is not the only reason to book a stay at this place. The host was very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome immediately. Nothing we asked for was too much, even a special request for help with the text on our post cards :-)

We stayed in the whale suite, which has a fabulous view on the ocean. Also the breakfast was excellent, Nutella (we are Belgian and chocolate lovers) included.

We can only but advise to stay at this place when travelling along the garden route!

Many thanks again for everything!

Ans & Jurgen

Room Tip: Whale suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Lovely welcome from Pam, while we settled in coffee and biscuits appeared. Pam is so friendly, and enthusiastic. Lots of good information on where to go, and what to do. The room was very comfortable, great views of the ocean. An excellent breakfast was served on the deck, we even saw a whale one morning. The staff were very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. Ideally situated for the beach, a short drive to the Robberg Nature Reserve (excellent place), and not too far to Tsitsikamma and Storms River. A real enjoyable stay, and would not hesitate to stay here again if we returned to Plett. Thanks Pam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a short but lovely stay at Dolphin's Playground. The Dolphin Suite was small but perfect for our needs. Pam was a wonderful host and set us up with drinks and snacks on arrival and advised us on the best places to eat. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed the ocean views that come with it!

The house is located just a short walk from the beach and a quick drive from shops and restaurants. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I visited Plettenberg bay with my parents. We were greeted by Pam and the offer of coffee was welcome after a long drive. We had the seahorse and dolphin room. All rooms open on to a big deck, which has this gorgeous view of the Indian ocean. I am sure the sunrise and sunsets would be simply splendid but unfortunately for us it was over cast every single day during our 3 day stay. Woke up to a delicious breakfast spread and Pam helped plan our day with suggestions and map. Each evening when we came back she offered us tea/coffee with cookies, which again was welcome. The heated blankets and room heater worked well and was needed as it got cold each evening/night. Pam was very warm to us and even helped us with our luggage. I would defi stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NidhiVaishnavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Dolphin's Playground were selected because of its proximity both to Robberg Nature Reserve (hiking) and Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Center.

I was greeted by Pam the owner when I arrived and showed the room and told about general house rules. Were served a beer and some peanuts as well. Since I was going to get up at 6 am each morning I did not think about a hot breakfast, but I was actually served fruit salad and a full English breakfast at 6:15 am which I thought were great.

Room was comfortable, clean and had direct access to the great balcony. The B & B is a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is also an honesty bar here.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again if I'm returning to Plettenburg bay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
1.5 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#11 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Property: Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Address: 3 Tillamook Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing