We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hide-away for a couple (and their dog)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hide-away for a couple (and their dog)”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We discovered Treehaven on the internet and was a bit sceptical as pictures on websites seldom reflect what you actually get. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised. It is one of the very few websites that do not do justice to the actual accommodation! It was comfy and clean and the setting was in a tranquil indigenous garden with an amazing view through the trees. We also got plenty sun inside the room and then there was always the deck. Very private and secluded and Carol was the perfect host.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Thanks again for a lovely stay at our favourite Plett hideaway, cool and green, calm and quiet, close to everything but far away enough to have a real get away. Carol, besides being a wonderful host, your art is off the wall! Made a great start on my next writing project too - a great place to read and reflect. Cheers Harry & Mamie

Room Tip: Unit 2 is great, private and great secluded view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Contrary to the hype our unit (3) was dark, viewless with mould on the rim of the bath with dirty soap dish. Cupboards in kitchen smelt of damp and the floor seemed grimy. Access was difficult and passed through an unsightly basement like passageway. In short, overhyped and overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARRIEPlettenbergBay, Owner at Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear JM. thank you, we appreciate it when guests take the time to give us feedback, I do wish that you had discussed some issues with us during your stay, then we would have been able to address your complaints. We do not want unhappy guests.

You are right the bathroom is a bit dark and can become damp, we spray for mould all the time, the unclean soap dish is unforgivable, so sorry. We have put fresh “dry gel” sachets in the kitchen cupboards. The grey-green natural slate floor is ideal for guests coming in from hikes and the beach.

Unit 3 has huge sliding glass doors opening on to a secluded deck, I am surprised you found it dark, perhaps you did not open the blinds ? Responding to your comments and those of another recent guest, we have opened a “window” in the trees allowing a lovely view down into the valley..

The rustic nature of our indigenous garden and access paths creating the “forest hide-a-way’ experience, is emphasized on our website. It is much appreciated by our many guests who seek out TREEHAVEN as an alternative holiday destination. Perhaps TREEHAVEN was not the right choice after your wife’s invasive medical treatment. We trust that she is making a good recovery.
Yours sincerely Carol Sachs
Owner TREEHAVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Treehaven is snuggled under a forest of trees.... a unique, quiet hideaway where we spent a few beautiful days relaxing and unwinding in Unit 2 with 3 small dogs.
Our hosts, Carol and Feo are genuine salt-of-the-earth people. Feo's ingenuity in designing the units to blend in with the environment gives one the feeling of staying in a modern treehouse. Clean, friendly, helpful staff. Well priced. Can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Unit 2 surrounded by trees. Feels like you are in the clouds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashaarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at Treehaven with our extended family and 2 year old daughter and found it clean and pleasant with a lovely forest feel. Thandi provided a babysitting service which was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PE
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

If you want a quiet break-away in Plett that is away form the crowds but still only 5 minutes' drive from the beach, stay in unit 2 at Treehaven. The architectural design is superb - you feel like floating in the trees. Fully equipped for self-catering with a deck to braai.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Piet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We found Treehaven in a travel guide at the George airport.... little did we know what a gem we had discovered!

It is an architecturally beautiful home nestled in the treetops of Plett... The decor is modern and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accommodating while the surroundings are peaceful and beautiful!

It is wonderful and very well priced! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piri_Kollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#18 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#17 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
82 reviews
3.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation

Property: Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation
Address: 45 Hanois Drive | Robberg, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Treehaven Self Catering Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing