We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anlin Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anlin Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our second stay at Anlin. It can only be sheer slackness or a ‘grey moment’ that prevented me from writing a review last time we were here. Our welcome was warm and, as our 3 days progressed, we kept finding reasons to say ‘ They really have thought of every detail!’. Our accommodation was spacious in the upstairs suite. The lounge is elegantly comfortable with everything one would need – from games to novels to a TV with a good DSTV bouquet. The 2 verandahs, with their glorious views, boast loungers, a Weber , umbrellas and comfortable dining furniture. We decided to self-cater and the kitchen is extremely well equipped. (yay for a dishwasher!) The sleeping accommodation is good as is the bathroom with shower. En route to Plett, we realised that we had forgotten beach towels. No matter – Fran supplies beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas and even bats !!. We were also happy to find wireless internet access. With its proximity to Robberg Beach this is really a no –brainer when it comes to choosing a guest house in Plett. This was our last stop after a fairly long road trip. Clearly, we left the best to last!! Thank you ladies – and thanks to Dermot and Fran for our treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlickSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Fantastic news!! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us.
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, ,Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Thanks so much, Fran and Dermott, We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back! Very comfortable (perfect mattresses and pillows!!), beautifully decorated and truly fully equipped! The location was perfect for us - very quiet and only one block walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anlin soon!
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Many thanks Fran and Dermot for making our stay such a great experience!

Just a fabulous place. Stayed in The lower Garden Suite as a family of three with our little daughter who is 1.5 years old. The room is spacious, even with a little one. We had a private patio and garden, fully equipped kitchen and just nothing missing for a perfect holiday.

Great people, great location: perfect, nothing more to say. Have recommended to all friends and YOU should go there as well!

THANK YOU, 1a*

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensdingemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review. It is always so great for us to know that our guests loved their stay with us at Anlin beach House. We can't wait for you to come back again soon!!
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We could not have found a better place to spend several delightful days in Plettenberg Bay. Dermot & Fran are the ulitmate welcoming hosts; nothing too much trouble during our stay, advice given on places to visit, bookings made at restaurants and for gold etc.
We stayed in the upstairs apartment; extremely comfortable, very spacious, wonderfully equipped kitchen, satellite TV with several sport and movie channels, even a welcome pack of essentials in the fridge to greet our arrival.
The apartment has two verandahs each with fine views overlooking the town, one for the sunrise with breakfast, the other for the sunset where we had mixed our welcome sundowners!
Breakfast was served at the time of your choosing by one of the friendly local maids.
As the website states, it is only a short distance to the long, clean and beautiful Plettenberg beach, with the surf pounding in from the Indian Ocean. It was also only a short walk to local shops and cafes, with a very good fish restaurant on hand.
Would we return? Of course, can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougCHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you had a good stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked in here by our travel agent for four nights - rather spoilt with the two bedroom apartment for two of us. Bright, modern, tastefully decorated - my wife wanted to steal one of the vibrant paintings. Hosts and staff excellent, delivering breakfast with cheerful smiles. Arrived with a dirty rental car with wheel and tyre destroyed - a couple of phone calls by our hosts and an exchange car appeared next morning - we didn't have to lift a finger. Glad this was the place we stayed the longest along the Garden Route - strongly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Anlin Beach House in Plett, while exploring the Garden Route. We hope to see you again sometime (bring your friends and family to fill the apartment!).
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you want to wake up and walk on the beach(several kilometers end to end) or swim without getting into your car AND you want modern , stylish accomodation with delicious breakfast served on your private patio, then Anlin House is a great choice. We had 2 bedrooms, one bathroom and a well stocked kitchen - complete with Alessi corkscrew- a spacious lounge and the choice of 2 patios- one sheletered from the sun facing inland, one with a view of the bay.Very obliging hosts and delightful housekeeeping staff.Plett is a small town so even though you are in a quiet part of town, no restaurant is more than 5 to 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for your fabulous review. We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and enjoyed the Luxury apartment. Hope to see you again.
kind regards
Fran, Dermot, Grace, Zuki and Selina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our self-catering unit was excellent as was the breakfast served on our patio each morning.
The unit was modern and spotlessly clean and Fran and Dermot were on hand with useful information and knowledge of the area to make our stay special. The beach is only a couple of minutes away and the circular walk around the Roberg Nature Reserve was beautiful if hard going in places for a couple of very mature walkers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlin, Owner at Anlin Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you had a good stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure. And well done on your full Robberg Hike! all the best Fran and Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#10 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anlin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anlin Beach House

Property: Anlin Beach House
Address: 33 Roche Bonne Avenue | Off Longships Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anlin Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anlin Beach House, situated in a quiet, safe residential area of Plettenberg Bay offers ‘Four Star‘ affordable luxury just a mere 100 metres walk away from the famous Robberg Beach. The golden sand of Robberg Beach meanders its way to the famous Robberg Nature reserve to the South and the equally well known Beacon Isle Hotel to the North. The beach is 3.5kms long and perfect for a long leisurely walk or finding a secluded spot to relax and soak up the sun. We supply beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for your relaxed, sun filled beach days.You have a choice of Bed and Breakfast stay or self-catering in one of our four accommodation options. Our suites are decorated in a modern, contemporary style and include DSTV, free wireless internet connection, DVD player and are serviced daily. Not your typical beach house, this eclectic fusion of African art and artefacts and contemporary furnishings creates a warm, inviting atmosphere perfect for putting your feet up enjoying long, lazy days during your beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anlin Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing