We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Pie
Ranked #69 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We arrived here only to be redirected to it sister property 'Cordovan' just around the corner in the next road. It turned out to be a spacious suite of two spotless and comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms plus a large sunny balcony so we really enjoyed this place. It was a short walk (across another property which they are in the process of building on to add to the portfolio) back to Cottage Pie where we had breakfast next morning which was delicious. The manageress was exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times and lent us all the beach gear including towels, unbrellas, chairs and body boards. Both properties were about 100 yards from the beach but did not look directly onto the water / sunset. Would recommend a few days in 'Plett' as it had a lovely vibe and a great beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

We arrived at Cottage Pie very early - 11 o'clock - but rang the reception to ask whether we could leave the car in their parking area. Perseverence greeted us so warmly and said the room was nearly ready and we were more than welcome to go to the room to leave our cases. The room was very clean and although basic very comfortable and homely. Beth, the manageress, was shopping when we arrived but introduced herself later and was also very friendly and helpful suggesting various places to visit. There is a lovely pool and garden area and this is where we had our breakfast. Lovely breakfast and so relaxing in that area. Upon Beth's suggestion we visited Tenikwa which is a wild cat conservation area. What an experience! We saw African wild cat, serval, caracal, cheetah and leopard. They are in enclosures but you go into these enclosures with a ranger and get up close and personal - with the exception of the leopard. Wow.
Although this B&B is part of a chain - Lion Roars - the personal attention and welcome received could not have been bettered. Thanks to Beth and her team.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

When we arrived B&B was overbooked. Monique at the reseption was not able to find a solution for the first night. Manager was not availible. Our "luxury room" which appeared to be a converted garage the main window(only one!) and entrance of which was 2m from the car park. All guest could look in our room. White chipboard furniture, access the shower room through the wardrobe. Cheap,old toileteries and bare walls. We were very dissapointed. We got a bottle of wine, not really an adäquate excuse!
Next day we got an upgrade to a much better room in another villa.
There we had to change again the room after one day! Not really relaxed holiday!
Managment treated us unfriendly so we did not feel welcome.
Breakfast not bad, but not as good as other places we stayed in.
Very small garden & pool surounded by other properties.
I expect more from a five star accomodation.
Choose your room carefully!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

A professionally-run guest house with B&B charm. Beth and her team go all out to make it a great stay, with cooked-to-order breakfasts, restaurant recommendations and reservations, and advice on where not to bother going. The property is a block from beautiful Robberg Beach, five minutes from Plettenberg Bay restaurants, and offers easy access to attractions along the N2. Main house rooms ("Cottage Pie suites") are smaller and open either onto the front courtyard or the pool yard, though fellow guests were so quiet there was never an issue with noise. Having stayed in both, we felt that what we gained from the "Cordovan Suites" next door (newer, bigger, AC, some with private courtyard or balcony) we lost in charm - you walk across the parking lot to get to them. This is a quality operation. If we find ourselves back in Plett, we'll return to Cottage Pie.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Cottage Pie, what a place of happiness, friendly staff and great service!
We had to share with everyone what an fantastic stay we had there during our December Holiday! We arrived very late, with a very unhappy 2yrs old, but we were greeted by Monique and she immediately helped us settle in and made us feel very much at home! During our stay the staff were fantastic, our room was so well cleaned and so fresh everyday! Thank you to all the Cottage Pie staff and to Monique for everything you did for us!! YOu guys are 5 star! And we cant wait to return back to Plettenberg Bay !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLivingCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Had a really good time. The guest house offers nice spacious clean rooms, a lovely pool, sweet garden and lawns and the most lovely ladies who are always smiling and keen to help. Walking distance to beach but need to drive or taxi to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Percy and Hayley were very welcoming. Nothing was too much for them. Ideal location for Robberg Beach and the nature walks. Loan of beach chairs and umbrella was much appreciated. Restaurant recommendation was spot on. Great stop along our honeymoon tour of SA and the petals on the bed were great!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMandMB546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
289 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
413 reviews
11.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pie

Address: 16 Tarbet Ness Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Pie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for the splendour of its ever-changing sky- and seascapes, and for the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, Plett is a destination of distinction for all visitors to the Garden Route. Just five minutes from the bustling restaurants, galleries, coffee shops and bars of Plett’s Main Street, Cottage Pie is a secluded & tranquil beachside haven. This understated, private 5-star retreat boasts is ideally situated, just 100m from beautiful Robberg Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Pie Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing