We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, variable service, reasonable base for Plett”
Review of Cottage Pie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Pie
Ranked #65 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average rooms, variable service, reasonable base for Plett”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Cottage Pie was our least favourite stay of all the places in our three-week tour of South Africa. It didn't help that we were checked in to a very nice room and then moved to a smaller, less favourable one in a rather peremptory way, within the first ten minutes; and the energy of the establishment seemed to be going in to extensive building work on the adjacent property rather than providing top-notch service to existing guests. Breakfast was good and the manager did go the extra mile for us on the second day, when we had a call from our previous hotel in Kynsna to say that we had left some keys behind - she picked them up personally for us.

It's not really close enough to walk into central Plett but it's a short drive and was mid-way to the fabulous Robberg Peninsula which was well worth the visit.

Room Tip: We were in the annexe and would have preferred to be in the main Cottage Pie house having seen what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for your balanced feedback. We're sad to hear that your stay with us wasn't the kind of experience we hope to create. You're right, a lot of energy went into a complete re-working of the property last year - we're working hard to keep improving our place on the beach. Beth and her team tried hard to make sure that this impacted on our guests' experience as little as possible. After chatting to Beth, I understand now that the room move was intended to improve your stay, and I'm really sorry that it instead set your stay with us off on the wrong foot. It's good to hear you experienced at least a little bit of our extra-mile hospitality with your key collection, and that you enjoyed your visit to the peninsula. The work was completed last November, Cottage Pie has had a spruce up and is now part of a four-villa collection (The Robberg Beach Lodge). The Robberg now includes view rooms, a rooftop view terrace and a lounge looking right over the beach. We hope you'll give us another chance sometime to wow you. In the meantime, our sincere apologies and best wishes - The Bailey Family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

not 5* may get 3 for some rooms but not ours. Small and noisy on ground floor with the laundry room next door and people walking past all the time, no privacy at all. Room looked out onto a brick wall. Shower, old, broken and dirty.
The beach and nature reserve nearby are lovely only a short walk, but not visible from the guest house.
Some serious work need to be done by the management team to bring this place up to expectations placed on the customers by the marketing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the trouble to give us feedback: it helps us improve and we're grateful for it. We're so sorry about the noise from the laundry: we've moved it to a different part of the property now, where there are no rooms nearby. We've also given Cottage Pie a spruce up, while still trying to keep the charm that so many of our guests have loved. The biggest change, though, has been the addition of three adjacent properties to Cottage Pie. They all offer brand new modern beach house-style accommodation, and another has spectacular sea views. This lets us offer a much wider choice of accommodation, as well as a new dining room, sea-view lounge and rooftop view terrace. Cottage Pie has been integrated into this bigger property, now called The Robberg Beach Lodge. We hope you'll come back sometime and find exactly what you're looking for in our new place. In the meantime, best wishes from all of us at The Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was on a Garden Route tour with a family of five tourists. The trip was planned as 5* and we were all dissapointed when arriving at Cottage Pie.
We had been travelling for a week and staying at some lovely resorts and everybody felt 'let down' with this B&B.(A member of Lion Roars Group)
Firstly, the position, although near the beach, is in a dip without sea-views.
Reception was not that overwhelming and the entrance/foyer is definitely not 5*.
As for the rooms, comfortable, although the one I occupied was badly designed with the Bathroom in a closet!
Needs to be checked, but my client advised me that her room did not even have Air-conditioning??
I have stayed at and sent clients to other resorts in this Group of Resorts and always found it to be great. This particular one needs looking at.

Room Tip: The 'inside' rooms around the pool area are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your feedback - although it's tough to hear we didn't meet your expectations, we need to know how we can improve. With comments like yours in mind, we took a hard look at the property, and have made some big changes. Firstly, we have merged it with three adjacent properties: one of these is right on the sea-front road, and has spectacular views of Robberg Beach from the rooms and lounge, and one is a brand new build with a rooftop view terrace and bar. So those views you mention are now there for all our guests to enjoy. We also moved reception and lounge to the new sea-front property, and they're now beautifully 5-star. Lastly, we gave the Cottage Pie building a good spruce up, without, we hope, losing any of the charm that it's always had. All rooms now have heating/cooling aircons. The bathrooms in Cottage Pie are still very cottage-style, so if you're looking for a more modern and large bathroom, I'd recommend one of the other villas which all have brand new bathrooms. The whole property is now called The Robberg Beach Lodge, and we hope we can entice you back up the coast to come and check out the improvements. Til then, best wishes from us all at The Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed at Cottage Pie B&B with our 3 small kids for 5 days in April and had a wonderful time. The Cottage Pie house itself is charming (great style, modern and cozy at the same time), with a nice garden and pool and lovely rooms leading directly onto the garden area. The breakfast is very good, the service great (Beth, the manager, is very sweet and helpful with any requests), and you really feel at home.
The kitchen could be used for our own meals, so we could prepare meals for the kids, and had some really good take-out meals by the pool while our kids where sleeping.

The beautiful beach is just a few minutes walking distance, and the b&b provides umbrellas and beach chairs.

Only watch out is that several of the rooms are in different buildings around the Cottage Pie house. We were supposed to be in a different house (not nice style), which had only recently been renovated - the rooms were just beautiful, but it would have been really inconvenient for us to walk to a different house for breakfast or the pool etc, so luckily enough we could change the rooms for the main house and had a perfect stay.
So make sure to check where your rooms will be exactly to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: In main house by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. We're so glad that you and your family were so comfortable and happy during your stay. (We also enjoy having a kitchen available during long stays - too many meals out can get a bit much!) It's also great to hear your comments on Cottage Pie's charm and coziness. We love it too. We've given it a nice spruce up and moved reception over to a neighbouring property, which means that the garden and pool are now even more peaceful and private. We've also added a rooftop viewing terrace and a lounge with beautiful sea views elsewhere on the property, which give our guests a lot more options on places to hang out and enjoy themselves. Cottage Pie, together with the three other villas, is now called The Robberg Beach Lodge, and we hope we can welcome you back sometime for a glass of wine on that rooftop terrace. Til then, best regards from the Bailey family and all at the Robberg Beach Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Cottage Pie is a quaint place in a beautiful beach town. It is definitely a B&B and not a hotel and travellers should take it as such. We had a huge room which was beautifully decorated in a beach theme, and was exceptionally clean.

There is currently building work going on, which our travel agent did warn us about. We decided to take a risk and we're glad we did as the building work didn't really affect us. The management team did say that if they did impact on our holiday then they would ask the builders to do their utmost to change their activities. We didn't need to as they started at 8am and were finished by 5pm - we were out for most of the day at the superb beach and also went out for dinner so didn't really see the builders.

The B&B is outside of the town centre but Beth (the manager) arranged for taxis to and from the hotel to our restaurants, and even recommended and booked the restaurants for us (try LemonGrass - had fantastic food and wine).

The beach is great - Beth supplied us with all the necessary beach gear (umbrellas, towels, chairs etc) and we walked 5minutes to the beach, where we spent most of the day. Would recommend getting a picnic lunch and drinks in town beforehand as there are no shops nearby - we went into town for lunch but you do have to drive there.

We had a great time here and would recommend Cottage Pie as good B&B to stay at. Thanks Beth!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZChickPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We booked this "5 star !" based on the web site picture. We chose a superior room and on arrival were shown what could be best described as an annexe. The Cordova Villa (annexe)was so poorly sound proofed that we could hear everything from the adjoining rooms that we felt there was no privacy. There was no safe and when we questionned this we were told that the appartments were new and they had not had chance to install a safe. Surely this is an essential and should have been done when constructed. Also there is a building site between the appartments and the main building. Breakfast was ok but this is really poor value in comparison to otther B & Bs in SA.
N & MAS. Derbyshireuk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilsidebotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We rely on Tripadvisor when we travel too, so we're always glad to see constructive feedback. First of all, I'm sorry you didn't have the experience we would have liked you to have. Cottage Pie is a very special place to us, and we work hard to make every guest feel at home. Our Cordovan Villa Suites are new, so we appreciate knowing what we still have to tweak, and will look into the sound issue you raised. We agree with you: safes are an essential, and these were installed last week, as soon as we could get back into the rooms after a wonderfully busy season. We're also working hard to ensure that the building work on the neighbouring property is as unintrusive as possible. We're excited to see the completed build, which will be a beautiful addition to the area. Rest assured we're always working to improve this beautiful place on the beach, and appreciate your feedback in helping us to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mottram st andrew
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Bewre if it is hot as there is no air con in the main building.Ther is so in the new buiding but one has to walk across abuiding site or the staff will run a shuttle.
When it says 5 minutes to town and shops it is by car,some 5 kilometres
staff friendly

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fetommey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Cross Beach House
Southern Cross Beach House
#34 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront ...
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pie

Property: Cottage Pie
Address: 16 Tarbet Ness Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Pie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for the splendour of its ever-changing sky- and seascapes, and for the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, Plett is a destination of distinction for all visitors to the Garden Route. Just five minutes from the bustling restaurants, galleries, coffee shops and bars of Plett’s Main Street, Cottage Pie is a secluded & tranquil beachside haven. This understated, private 5-star retreat boasts is ideally situated, just 100m from beautiful Robberg Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Cottage Pie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Pie Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing