We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Beach House
Nearby Hotels
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
$313
$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$545
$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$239
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$342
$309
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$54
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
44
37
13
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
37
13
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboard walkrobberg beachguest housecolonial feelsea airprivate access to the beachrooms are niceelectric blanketsnature reserveindian oceanbeautiful settingtwo nightsother guestsa lovely stayyogurteach morninggarden route
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 103 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Booked the Southern Cross Beach House in order to enjoy the charming atmosphere, beach views and beach access. No beach views from the guestrooms, though nice views from the garden if the weather cooperates. Easy access to the beach for great walks in either direction. Owners live upstairs with family and dogs and could be heard overhead walking on their hardwood floors throughout our stay. Public lounge and eating areas very attractive, but room quite cramped. Room furnishings, linens, etc. seemed old and worn. Bathroom shower and in-room fan in need of some cleaning. Few bathroom amenities, though there is a brochure in the room advertising the owner's store which sells numerous creams, lotions, etc. Owners rather detached from operation of the guesthouse, though the breakfast managers are very pleasant. With so many guesthouses in Plett, there may be a better choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We recently stayed for two nights in Plettenberg Bay and Maria greeted us an arrival and we were made to feel very welcome. She had even recommended and booked our whale watching trip before we'd unpacked! The rooms were beautifully decorated and it felt very french, very chic, although compared to the rest of the accomodation on our holiday, the rooms were maybe a little cozy. It should also be noted that the Guesthouse isn't in the centre of Plettenberg Bay, and to go into town, you need to drive. The breakfasts were lovely, but the main thing was the most amazing view over the Indian Ocean from the garden while we had breakfast outside. It was breathtaking. There was a separate kitchen and seating/bar area for guests only so it very much felt like a home from home. Also thanks to Geena (I think that's right?!) who was wonderful every morning over breakfast.
If in Plettenberg Bay, I would also recommend Keurboomstrand - the most beautiful beach and Enrico's for the fish!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayleyanderson453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is such a relaxing place. Although we found the room was a bit small it was most comfortable and had a lovely view and we had a lovely two nights here! The lady who met us was very friendly and the breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryh030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A beautiful house in a lovely location. Somewhat away from Plettenburg itself, which is an advantage. Near to beach walks (below the house) and penisular walks. Our room was rather small.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We travelled in January 2010 and stayed 10 days with our 2 year old. We booked the biggest bedroom which was very pretty and comfortable. It had a shower and a lovely claw foot bath.
The setting is perfect, Southern Cross is located above the beach which is reached by a wooden walk way (multiple steps). Even in January (peak season) it was not that busy.
The owners were very helpful, when I got tonsilits they booked a local doctor and gave good sight seeing advice on local attractions. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning which was always delicious - you could help yourself to cereal, fruit and croissants, or order a hot breakfast.
The only negatives were no fridge in the room (only in shared area), and as it was very hot it would have been nice to have a small pool for our toddler to cool down.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbigailCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews