We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, perfect Plettenberg Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Cross Beach House
Ranked #36 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant, perfect Plettenberg Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend who used to live at Plettenberg Bay recommended Southern Cross Beach House during our stay and it could not have been a better choice. The rooms are beautifully appointed and clean, with excellent service, especially from Edward, the knowledgeable manager, who ensured that we knew where the best restaurants and places to visit were located. The accommodation is right on the beach and we were treated to wonderful breakfasts outside on the patio surrounded by a lush and colourful garden. The staff service was superlative and we were spoilt over our two nights. There is a wonderful guest lounge with fire for a cosy winter's night with a kitchen attached and an honesty bar. We would not stay anywhere else at Plettenberg Bay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill-Out-of-Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything was perfect. The decor of the rooms and common areas, the gardens, the staff. It really is a special place to spend a few days! The staff couldn't do enough for us and made us feel like we were royalty. Thank you Southern Cross Beach House.... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is very well located above the beach of Plettenberg Bay, with friendly staff and convenient central kitchen services for general use during the day.
However, no rooms have sea views, unless you are the owner, whose rooms do.
The pool is only for the use of the owner, too.
So while it's very good, it's not quite as good as it could be.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a wonderful location! The B&B is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We wanted to just stay there and look at the view of the ocean. Edward, the Manager, and his staff were extremely helpful and kind and made our final days in South Africa very special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeks444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this guest house for 4 nights in January this year. It is in a lovely location overlooking the ocean with the sound of waves crashing on to the beach and (if you're lucky - we were) the sight of dolphins in the Bay. Apart from the location it is the staff that make this place so special: Ed is an exceptional manager (even organising my washing to go to the laundry) and the ladies who do breakfasts and the rooms are so nice and so helpful. However in a modern age there are a few things t take into consideration: there is no air conditioning, no fridge in the room and limited space in the kitchen fridge. On one hand this is a refreshing change from modern identi-kit hotels but on the other on hot steamy nights it is hard to sleep. Also whilst we had the king size room which was spacious and comfortable, other guess commented that their rooms were small. Garden furniture was also a little tight as the space overlooking the sea is confined. However I don't think that I have ever been welcomed in and waved goodbye by such a nice team of people.

Room Tip: Try to get the King size room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Souther Cross Beach House for 1 Night during December. What a lovely place! Usually what you see on the websites of Hotels and Guest Houses aren't the same, but at Southern Cross it was way better.

The rooms are lovely & clean, and so beautifully decorated. The views from the garden is amazing and the breakfast fantastic! Thanks to Ed and the rest of the staff that made us feel so welcome.

I would highly recommend Southern Cross to anyone, so peaceful and ofcourse the service with a smile.

We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We really enjoyed the 3 nights in the beautifully decorated room and the relaxing ambience of this guest house. Situated directly above the beach it is perfect for beach walks (Robberg beach) or for just enjyoying the beatiful view. The friendliness and the great hospitality make you feel at home from the first minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WienRenate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#40 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Beach House

Property: Southern Cross Beach House
Address: 1 Capricorn Lane | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Cross Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing