We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the beach (almost)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Cross Beach House
Ranked #44 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you like the perfect host, breakfast with a view on the beach and clean very nice furnished and well kept rooms, this is the place to be.
The grounds around the house are just lovely. The rooms are maybe not very spacious, but who wants to stay in his room all they long. As the house is almost on the beach the beds felt a bit damp but they got some kind of heating you can switch on that makes that go away. I wouldn't use the heating to sleep, but my girlfriend was a big fan.
There's a nice common area inside as well as outside with a well packed honesty bar.
We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed every bit. The host is very helpfull if you want to plan some trips.
Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelLinsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Southern Cross for two nights in April 2012. We booked the big room and it was very pretty. I loved the bathroom with its black and white checkered floor, claw foot bath and big shower. Breakfast was lovely and the view of the beach from the verandah is great. We loved having the two dogs (Toby an Baloo) around. They made us feel at home. There is a wooden walkway to get to the beach and we went for a nice walk although the weather was not great. The guesthouse is in a residential neighbourhood. It is quite tricky to find but luckily we had a GPS to guide us there. It is not near the town center and you have to drive to shops and restaurants. We had a very relaxing 2 days and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The best part of this B/B was the service. The place itself is on the beach, but you wouldn't know it - cannot hear the waves or see the beach. The entire upstairs and most of the grounds are for the owners only. The rooms are cramped and damp with little privacy. People constantly walking by. Not worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

charming, smallish with nice large bathrooms and lovely grounds. The common areas are lovely, cottagey, and the staff very capable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Lovely position near to the Robberg Peninsula but no sea views and owners living on the top floor. Little privacy because french windows opened on to a courtyard garden. Sweet dog that jumped on your bed, ok, if you like dogs but not good, if you don't! Lovely staff and manager but would not choose to stay there again. Do not swim near the guest house, as there is a strong rip tide and we got caught in it, where there are no lifeguards.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne56Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very lovely accomodation in New England style. Hosts Maria and Jean were totally fabulous and made our stay here feel very welcoming.

I would however point out that the pictures of the Beach House are very misleading. The accomodation is all on the ground floor of this lovely house with the owner living on the whole of the second floor. There is a pool on the property but this is for the sole use of the owner. The only out door area to lie out on only provides 2 recliners so if the guesthouse is busy you have limited space to relax in. This was our most expensive accomodation during a 3 week road trip round South Africa and although a lovely place I think you get better value for money and a place with a pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Booked the Southern Cross Beach House in order to enjoy the charming atmosphere, beach views and beach access. No beach views from the guestrooms, though nice views from the garden if the weather cooperates. Easy access to the beach for great walks in either direction. Owners live upstairs with family and dogs and could be heard overhead walking on their hardwood floors throughout our stay. Public lounge and eating areas very attractive, but room quite cramped. Room furnishings, linens, etc. seemed old and worn. Bathroom shower and in-room fan in need of some cleaning. Few bathroom amenities, though there is a brochure in the room advertising the owner's store which sells numerous creams, lotions, etc. Owners rather detached from operation of the guesthouse, though the breakfast managers are very pleasant. With so many guesthouses in Plett, there may be a better choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
576 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
310 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Beach House

Address: 1 Capricorn Lane | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $106 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Southern Cross Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing