We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small guesthouse with great views of the ocean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overhagen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small guesthouse with great views of the ocean!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Singing Kettle is situated right at the beaches of Keurboomstrand and offers great views of the ocean. We only stayed one night but were lucky enough to spot some dolphins from our balcony.

The lodge and the rooms are very clean. Although the main floor had a slight strange smell, which arised from some fresh, but smelly, flowers as we later found out. The rooms offer TV and internet access, if you don´t want to stay on your balcony the whole evening.

Under the lodge is an italian restaurant, which offers fresh fish and pizza, so that you can leave your car in the parking spot and enjoy a bottle of wine. If you want to go to the center of Plettenberg Bay you need about 10 minutes.

Unfortunately the lodge doesn´t offer breakfast, aside from the muesli you can prepare yourself. But therefore the pricing is reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoenerPommes_Bini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We so enjoyed our 2 nights and wished we had been their longer and so convienent for the surrounding area without being in the centre of Plettenberg. The rooms were fantastic and comfortable with the resturant offering fantastic choice of Italian and local food - recommend the fish. Go for room 1 with the full length window and soak up the view and enjoy a cool drink on the balcony listening to the sounds of the ocean.
Davids and Anna

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had room 5 - with glorious views along the beach at Keurboomstrand. The room was clean and fresh - with a fridge containing milk and yoghurt. Fresh coffee was also available, plus muesli for the morning. Also a basket of fruit. Only criticism is that the shower-room was small and stuffy - but a minor point.

Wireless internet access was available - though in the central sitting room rather than in our room. There is dedicated free parking behind the Lodge and restaurant - with security provided by the staff that provide security for the restaurant.

The lodge sits over Enrico's restaurant - which benefits from the wonderful location and views. We made the mistake on the 1st night of just picking food off the menu - and missed out on the specials! We had to send back a plate of calamari which was overcooked and terribly dry. However - unless you want to drive there's nowhere else around to eat - so we braved it the second night and had a fantastic meal (rump steak and rocket salad).

Before going we had worried about noise from the restaurant - don't worry - the only noise you'll hear is the sound of the breaking waves on the shore!

Our 2nd evening was also made special by being able to watch a school of approx 100 dolphins swimming past!!

There are shops nearby in Plettenberg Bay (a few km drive) - where you can find supermarkets etc if you decide to cater for yourselves. We spent a great morning at the Knysna Elephant Park which we highly recommend - a chance to feed and touch elephants!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltshiretraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

what a lovely guesthouse. We wanted to chill out for 2 days with no fuss.
simple and beautiful. ideal for someone wanting to relax away from crowd

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chestydeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Fantastic - we had the honeymoon suite, great view and LOVED Plett. It's a holiday destination for South Africa's answer to families of the OC!

The room was comfortable, large and with really comfy bed! Decorated white, it overlooked the ocean was right on the beach - which in peak season wasn't at all crowded.

Each room has it's own ocean front balcony and kitchenette.

This is a brilliant, and surprisingly affordable way to stay somewhere that alotof people can only dream of experiencing on holiday... We loved it!

Only negative was the really loudish restaurant below during the evening. But you'll probably be in there eating Italian food anyway!

Franko’s in town... – THE BEST RESTAURANT EVER!


  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — na
  • Tips/Secrets — Frankos to eat out!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.7 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#19 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
180 reviews
6.1 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
109 reviews
10.5 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
110 reviews
6.2 mi away
la Vista Lodge
la Vista Lodge
#5 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing