We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful house in beautiful setting, simply stunning.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Little Sanctuary
Ranked #47 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Our first time in Plett and what a wonderful experience. The Little Sanctuary is exactly that. A beautiful house, extremely clean, well kept and spacious, with views which were out of this world and a pool with a safety net so perfect for our 3yr old and 1yr old. The location is superb, right overlooking the Lookout beach with a 5minute walk to The Deck which is a lovely place to eat breakfast/lunch or dinner with the views of the bay. One of the best places we have ever stayed at.
The owners have been more than helpful and so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. It really felt like a home away from home.
We definitely hope to return year after year, thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreoProphets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for The Little Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2009

As the name implies this is a 'Little Sanctuary". It is a peaceful place with the most magnificent views of the lagoon, mountains and the sea. We loved the swimming pool which is totally sheltered from the wind but we also walked to the beach which is mere minutes away on foot. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank NoodleDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Little Sanctuary and we found it to be a wonderful B & B. We stay for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was lovely and more than we could eat. Our room was very big, clean and had a wonderful bathroom. There was a fridge which nice as we kept some wine in there. The view was amazing and there is a great patio which you eat breakfast on and enjoy the view. We ate at the Look Out which is a very short walk down the coast path. It is a great place, very casual and the food was lovely. We would sit there late afternoon till evening drinking and eating, enjoying the amazing view. Sonja the owner is a lovely lady and was very helpful.

No one stays at the b&b at night which I didnt realise and sometimes we were the only ones there.

Plettenberg Bay is a wonderful place with wonderful restuarants and shops. The Knysna Elephant Park is a fanstastic place and we love it. The is a wonderful craft shop called the Heath with the most unusual cute crafts but please be warned about Jades cafe which is next door, great food and coffee but we were most upset with the guy who served us as he ripped us off with our change. They didnt have enough change but is was only R40 so you would have though they would have had that, he basically shoved R26 in my hand and shoved me out the door, I was gob smacked. So please beware.

I love Plett and the area. I really hope everyone enjoys it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuJu820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

On a recent visit to South Africa in late July we stayed for two nights at The Little Sanctuary B&B, in Plettenberg Bay.
Our visit was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. We arrived late in the evening and were given a lovely room. We woke up to to a spectacular view of the ocean. After an early morning stroll on the beach we returned to a substantial English breakfast served on our patio. Following a busy day sightseeing we were enjoying a glass of wine on the patio when to our delight we saw a whale in the bay - what a bonus - apparently they come in to breed. The African lady, Angelina, I think, who served our breakfasts and made or rooms always had a lovely smile and was so helpful.
On our last day we managed to sqeeze in game of golf on the much recommended Goose Valley estate and then sadly had to leave for Cape Town for our flight back to Norway. We asked the manageress for look around. There are three rooms, all sea facing, we stayed in the Tsitsikamma which although the smallest was very comfortable. The room beside us The Outeniqua was larger and if we had been staying more days would have requested that. The third room, The Keurbooms, is very big, also has a great sea view and has recently been fully refurbished and a brand new bathroom with large shower.
If you travel the Cape make sure you spend a few nights in Plettenberg bay, tons of things to do and see even in a winter climate. And if you go to Plett - do pay The Little Sanctuary a visit- you will love it. Situated in a very fashionable and quiet part of Plett and being so close to the village high street and beach is ideally positioned.

Stavanger, Norway

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank paul001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

The best thing about this B+B was the view. It was right across the bay and you could see the Whales passing by at this time of the year.
The room was clean, big bed, TV and balcony where your breakfast is served. huge shower!
Good value for money in a relatively expensive town(not expensive by English standards!)
Only a short walk to a great bar with fantastic food called the Lookout-right on the beach.
Nice place to relax with stunning views

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wollmann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Sanctuary

Address: 18 Formosa Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — The Little Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Sanctuary overlooks the beautiful Lookout beach and is blessed with panoramic views of the sea, lagoons, and Tsitsikamma Mountains. The Little Sanctuary has recently undergone an extensive modernization, makeover and upgrade. The results are stunning. The house now features an extra floor to make the most of the views, five double bedrooms, modern kitchen, swimming pool, large garden, built in BBQ, several entertaining areas, with cleaning service included. This delightful luxury seaside property provides you and your guests with the perfect self-catering holiday being located within very short walking distance of the sea, beaches, restaurants and Plett's high Street. The closest restaurant is only a two -minute stroll away just meters from the sea. Located at the end of the highly sought-after Formosa Street, the property is adjacent to the "Lookout Nature Reserve" providing direct access and uninterrupted access and views to the sea. We invite you to rent The Little Sanctuary for your holiday in Plett - with probably the best location in Plettenberg Bay you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing