We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true haven and gem with magnificient views of the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Watch Guest House
Ranked #12 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Judy and her team manage to combine the highest quality of service with all of the added personal and special touches eg afternoon tea served in china cups on the patio overlooking the bay. I can also honestly say I have never seen such brilliantly white bed linen and towels. The 'shell' room has the best views but all are pretty good. All in all, a delightful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2010

This place is a perfect example on the recipe for an incredible Guest Hosue:
- superb location and views,
- beautiful house with luxurious rooms,
- top quality breakfast served in outstanding surroundings
- marvelous staff,
- relaxing atmosphere…

But we all know that following a recipe is not enough not make a dish taste incredible ! It’s the people that puts those magic ingredients that it’s impossible to write down in a list… their warmth, their devotion and passion in doing something you can see they love doing !

The result, as you can imagine, is simply outstanding ! We had considered staying at The Plettenberg Hotel when we got to the area, but someone recommended us to have a look to this Guest Hosue first. I am sure the hotel is incredible, but so it is this lovely and intimate house full of small touches… and here they will make you feel at home! (just make sure to get one of the rooms with views towards the ocean for a perfect experience)

Thanks Judy, Glenn and all the staff!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GACMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We planned to stay in Plettenberg for 3 nights and extended to 5 after we fell in love with both the area and the guesthouse. There are so many things to do and see within in 30 minutes that we could easily make 5 days 8 or 9 (especially if you just want to relax). The Robberg is simply stunning and we like Plett itself as a town. It is quite a 'young' orientated town but coming originally from Cornwall it so MUCH more classy than Newquay! If you like fantastic food and great service go a restaurent called Nguni (Glen and Judy know where it is). Don't let the outside put you off, its far from ostentacious looking but it was overall one of our best meals during our 3 week stay. Back to Ocean Watch, we really enjoyed staying there. all the staff are friendly and polite and kept us filled up with coffe and tea whatever the time. The rooms are clean and the bed in the Captain's Cabin extremely comfortable. Breakfast is hearty and Judy and Geln are genuinely caring hosts who are interested in their guests. Take some time to talk to them and they can give you some good advice on where to go and what to see. Judy even arranged for me to see a doctor to deal with a spider bite (from other accomadation!) and arranged for a friend to drop off our jackets 75kms away after we forgot them. We will be revisiting Plettenberg and we will be staying with Glen and Judy again!

Martin and Marai

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishmanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We were lucky to get a late booking for Ocean Watch. The beautiful sea-view rooms had all been taken, but we weren't at all let down by the quality of our room. Glenn was very helpful to us and nothing seemed too much trouble. (He had to show us round and attend to his wife as well, as she was not well) The room was light and well furnished with high quality accessories. There was a well-stocked fridge and a useful hospitality tray. There was a glass of sherry on the house for those who wanted it. The comfortable bed allowed for a good night's sleep which was followed by the best breakfast we had experienced in South Africa! For those, like me, who like a nice cup of tea with your breakfast, it was most certainly the best cup of tea in the land. We were able to look out over a beautiful seascape as we ate. Marvellous! Judy couldn't be kept down and she made a swift recovery in time to provide adequate supervision of her hubby!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piggywiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed at the Ocean Watch for 2 nights as part of a holiday travelling around South Africa. Plettenberg bay had been recommended to us by some friends and the Ocean Watch looked like somewhere a bit nice to enjoy.

Whilst in South Africa we stayed in a variety of places with varying expense. The Ocean Watch was at the higher end of the specturm ( £125 per night) and I could not quite see where the cost was justified.

That is not to say the Ocean Watch is not a good guest house. The hosts Glen and Judy were very pleasant and Glen gave us some great tips on places to go and enjoy in the area. The house was lovely with a very nice terrace on the top where we spent part of our afternoon relaxing with the great views.

We had a nice room but it was not very big. We had a bath next to the window overlooking the bay. Breakfast was good and the place had a friendly atmosphere and we chatted and swapped stories with the other guests. It was not quite warm enough to take a swim though the pool is only the size of a bath tub.

It was only a short walk into the main street in Plett where there are a couple of bars and a handful of decent restaurants.

If you enjoy staying in places a bit nicer, then the Ocean Watch is not a bad place to stay but if you are more wary of good value it is probably one to avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Superbly comfortable furnished accommodation, in quiet area of Plettenberg. Lots of available books on areas history,birds etc. Fruit & Sherry appreciated. Delicious breakfast. Excellent restaurant easy walk nearby . Steep walk to beach.
'Swimming' pool really only a plunge pool.
Hosts very helpful, but not resident in building, & rather talkative!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this gem of a guest house in Plettenberg Bay.

As October is really early holiday season in South Africa, we could have chosen from numerous guest houses/ hotels but we are so glad that we opted for this one.

The views are so amazing and the staff are so friendly that you could be tempted into never leaving the place to spend time at the newarby beach or bars/restaurants.

Glenn, Judy and their staff are great hosts.

Definitely one of the highlights of our holiday.

Niall & Libby, Belfast

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall_Belfast_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
608 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
294 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#7 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Watch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Watch Guest House

Address: 12 Perestrella Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $73 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Watch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Watch Guesthouse is situated on the coastal hill side of Plettenberg Bay, within 10 minutes' walk from the beach or town center. The guest house has a wonderfully large communal patio upstairs, with comfortable seating, to enjoy the stunning ocean views and overlooking the Keurbooms river, forming a lagoon at the river mouth,with the Tsitsikamma mountains as a backdrop. Downstairs is a small garden with a rim flow splash pool, overlooking the ocean. Decorated in neutral tones, the elegant rooms at Ocean Watch are well equipped with private bathroom/ shower. Most of the rooms are sea facing. Robberg Nature Reserve is 6 km away and Keurboomstrand is a 12-minute drive. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Plettenberg Bay! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Plettenberg Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Watch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing