We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hosts!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Watch Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Watch Guest House to your Saves list
Ocean Watch Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Plettenberg Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had 3 nights with Glen and Judy and they really were the perfect hosts. They were very helpful, telling us where to go and what to see and finding us restaurants in the evening. The breakfasts were excellent and all the staff very friendly. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent all round - very good position - Judy and Glenn are excellent hosts - we will hopefully return soon......... Staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnsGns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our first trip to South Africa and found this a delightful stop. We had 2 days with Glen and Judy who were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. The house is lovely, full of interesting bits and pieces and we were made to feel very much at home. .The view from our terrace was stunning - even in the torrential rain! Our friend even had great views from his bath!
Location was fine - short walk into main streets and only a couple of minutes in the car down to the beach. Would highly recommend this as a stop on the Garden Route.It is not a 5* hotel, but it is a superb B&B

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue5647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The perfect place to relax from a trip on garden route. The view from the terrace was overwhelming. We had a very nice and comfortable room. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Judy and Glenn. Judy is the master of a tasteful decoration! The location is perfect, a 10 minutes walk to the gorgeous beach and 5 minutes to main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AN_AN_GRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at this guest house. From their website the place looked lovely, and although it was more expensive than we would have liked to have paid, we decided to book it as it looked so nice. When we arrived Glen and Judy were very friendly and welcoming and we had lovely views from our window. We expected to be closer to the sea and were a little suprised that we were further away than we thought. However, we thought we would have a lovely stay. After returning from dinner we found that our room had cockroaches! Having never visited Plettenberg Bay before I'm not sure whether this is the norm with a place like that, but it made for a very unsettled night indeed! We would not return to this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed 1 night, an extremely clean place with a fantastic view of the bay, lovely breakfast friendly owners, though we only met the housekeeper on evening of arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ocean Watch is an attractive guest house set in a great location in Plett. The views are fantastic overlooking the bay to the east, with the main street and beaches only a short stroll away. We stayed in the Shell room which was spacious and had great views of the bay. Glenn & Judy were very friendly and welcoming as hosts and their staff made a scrumptious breakfast! However, we did feel that it was quite expensive compared to other B&B's we had stayed in on our South Africa trip...though Plett does seem to be generally more expensive than less touristy areas. The only minor negatives were that some aspects could do with updating e.g. having a full shower in the room instead of a bath and handheld shower, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Shell room had a great view...but so did the terrace outside the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurricaneboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#2 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#11 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#22 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cornerway House
Cornerway House
#13 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Watch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Watch Guest House

Property: Ocean Watch Guest House
Address: 21 Plettenberg Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Watch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Watch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing