We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Watch Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$547
$532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$240
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$344
$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
169
20
10
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
20
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean suitecaptain's cabintasteful decorationwonderful ladiesgarden routemagnificent view of the bayshared poolrestaurants and shoppingcommunal areaswonderful guesthousebraai facilitynautical themelarge terraceweaver birdswalking distancecomplimentary sherrybreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 204 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at this guest house. From their website the place looked lovely, and although it was more expensive than we would have liked to have paid, we decided to book it as it looked so nice. When we arrived Glen and Judy were very friendly and welcoming and we had lovely views from our window. We expected to be closer to the sea and were a little suprised that we were further away than we thought. However, we thought we would have a lovely stay. After returning from dinner we found that our room had cockroaches! Having never visited Plettenberg Bay before I'm not sure whether this is the norm with a place like that, but it made for a very unsettled night indeed! We would not return to this guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EmilyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed 1 night, an extremely clean place with a fantastic view of the bay, lovely breakfast friendly owners, though we only met the housekeeper on evening of arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ocean Watch is an attractive guest house set in a great location in Plett. The views are fantastic overlooking the bay to the east, with the main street and beaches only a short stroll away. We stayed in the Shell room which was spacious and had great views of the bay. Glenn & Judy were very friendly and welcoming as hosts and their staff made a scrumptious breakfast! However, we did feel that it was quite expensive compared to other B&B's we had stayed in on our South Africa trip...though Plett does seem to be generally more expensive than less touristy areas. The only minor negatives were that some aspects could do with updating e.g. having a full shower in the room instead of a bath and handheld shower, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Shell room had a great view...but so did the terrace outside the other rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurricaneboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Ocean View is well placed in Plettenburg Bay a short walk from the town and beach and with spectacular views eastwards across the bay. A well designed spacious house the rooms on the upper floor are especially good with a terrace on which to enjoy the view, breeze, sun and the odd bottle of good South African wine. A very small plunge pool in the garden. Breakfasts are well supplied with everything you might want to choose. But ..... some things are beginning to show signs of wear and tear and should be repaired, replaced, refurbished. An example - the sun shade parasol on the terrace was broken and had obviously been in that state for some time. The owners need to pay more attention. They live off site. Whilst we were there some other guests arrived just after 6.00pm having been delayed on the road from Cape Town. The owners had gone for the night, no-one to let them in and check them in. We opened the door, they phoned and the owners came round saying with a laugh how lucky they were to catch them as they were just on their way out. And breakfast becomes a bit of a production with the hostess floating around in her finery introducing all the guests to each other while her staff do all the work. So - good, but could be better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 38Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We've already recommended Ocean Watch to friends. Vibrant hosts, perfect breakfasts and especially the view from the balcony and small pool made this the best guesthouse experience on our journey along the garden route.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews