We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Situated right on the beach this is an excellent place to relax. Small hotel so you are not just a number. We had a ground floor room with patio and great ocean view. The owner is very keen to share his local knowledge and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Good spot for exploring the local area. It was a hot day when we arrived and we were concerned there was no air conditioning but with windows open there was a delightful sea breeze.

Attached is the Lemon Tree restaurant which has excellent food.

Room Tip: Sea view room with patio worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear ItsAllOne,
YES, YES, YES! We do have the best location in Plettenberg Bay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are welcome to come and visit us again any time. Until then - safe travels and a happy journey. Best regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 797 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place is on a lagoon, a stunning location. There is the convenience of a restaurant there, breakfast is really good, the manor itself is beautiful. I would highly recommend this place. ONLY negative was the dirty windows, which made seeing the beautiful views slightly more difficult!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ll8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Il8555,
Thank you for your review of Milkwood Manor on Sea. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed having you. There is but one disadvantage of our beautiful position on the world famous Lookout Beach, and that is the amount of salt and sand that gets carried in the strong South winds that sullies the windows. The views however do not go anywhere and can be enjoyed from any outside area even your sun-drenched balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean, Lagoon or the beaches that stretch all the way to the Tsitsikamma Mountain range. We hope for you to return in the near future. Until then Enjoy the journey. Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is just divine! We had the most amazing two nights here and have already reserved to go back. We stayed in room two which I think must be by far the best room with its own private terrace and a lagoon and sea view. The staff at reception are wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and spacious, the building itself is grand yet somehow doesn't ruin the landscape. Just perfect.

My only criticism was that the waiter we had at the Lemon Grass restaurant for dinner was pretty rude to us - but that's not a review of the hotel but the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi there Wilster,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you had a great Milkwood Manor experience, but how else, with the amount of sunshine and beach weather we've been having lately. We cannot wait to have you back here with us, frolicking on the beach, off on a new adventure every day, shopping your socks off. Ah, this is the life...
Until then, have an awesome journey and safe travels.
Best regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a perfect setting. We were made to feel very special. While at Milkwood Manor, we had to contact home for an emergency. Our thanks and appreciation to Leon on reception for looking up numbers and being so helpful. Without you going the extra mile, we would not have been able to enjoy our holiday.
Meals were an absolute treat in the well run, friendly restaurant. We were bowled over with the quality of the food and service. We loved it so much, we kept returning. Try the silverfish if it is available.
Rooms was comfortable and unpretentious. Loved being so close to the beach, having the car washed every day and being surrounded by people who were always cheerful and smiling.
Wish we were there now. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiler023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello Smiler,
Thank you for taking the time to review Milkwood Manor on Sea.
It is easy to always be cheerful and friendly when you live in one of the most beautiful places on earth, right on an ever-changing beach with great weather all year round. and then to top it all off, to have great people like you to share it with! We are truly glad that you had a great Milkwood Manor experience, and we would love to have you return sometime in the near future. We hope everything turned out OK in the end back at home. You were a great couple, very kind and giving - The next time you visit be sure to book a sea-facing room with balcony, and the first round is on us.
Best wishes,
Milkwood Manor on Sea (L)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

lovely people (thanks magreth:-), pretty rooms with nice sea view, next to an excellent restaurant "lemon gras", don´t miss to dine! margreth gave us kindly advice, where to go and what to see ;-)
we had such a good time!!

Room Tip: take one upstairs to have a lovely sea view, but the other are also quite good (lagoon view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Achim,
Thank you for your kind review. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been really blessed with great weather that is just perfect for the awesome beach that we are on. We'd love to have you return in the near future, so let us know when you'd wish to come again. Until then, stay in touch and enjoy the journey.
Best regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Milkwood is a nice hotel in a stunning location with pleasant and friendly staff. However this wasn't our favourite stop arrived at 8pm and it was very hard to find somewhere to eat as the onsite restaurant was fully booked. No room had a basic fan no air con and no fridge these need to be updated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

HI Jbb,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are planning on installing both air conditioners and fridges into the rooms in 2015. Perhaps the next time you should visit you'll find this improves your experience. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Guest House ticked all our boxes, friendly, helpful staff and delightful owner; wonderful location; comfy spacious room; great food in the restaurant and views to die for. Can't wait to return. We just loved all our stops in South Africa and this spot certainly did much to enhance our impression of the country. If you like bird watching go out with Gareth Robbins!

Room Tip: Estuary and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

HI JandP,
Thank you for your review! We're truly pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please feel free to post some of your photographs on our Facebook page to share with other travelers. When next you think of coming to Plettenberg Bay we would love to have you stay with us again. Until then, safe travels and a happy journey. Best wishes, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
760 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
375 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing