We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

lovely people (thanks magreth:-), pretty rooms with nice sea view, next to an excellent restaurant "lemon gras", don´t miss to dine! margreth gave us kindly advice, where to go and what to see ;-)
we had such a good time!!

Room Tip: take one upstairs to have a lovely sea view, but the other are also quite good (lagoon view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Achim,
Thank you for your kind review. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been really blessed with great weather that is just perfect for the awesome beach that we are on. We'd love to have you return in the near future, so let us know when you'd wish to come again. Until then, stay in touch and enjoy the journey.
Best regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 811 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Milkwood is a nice hotel in a stunning location with pleasant and friendly staff. However this wasn't our favourite stop arrived at 8pm and it was very hard to find somewhere to eat as the onsite restaurant was fully booked. No room had a basic fan no air con and no fridge these need to be updated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

HI Jbb,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are planning on installing both air conditioners and fridges into the rooms in 2015. Perhaps the next time you should visit you'll find this improves your experience. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Guest House ticked all our boxes, friendly, helpful staff and delightful owner; wonderful location; comfy spacious room; great food in the restaurant and views to die for. Can't wait to return. We just loved all our stops in South Africa and this spot certainly did much to enhance our impression of the country. If you like bird watching go out with Gareth Robbins!

Room Tip: Estuary and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

HI JandP,
Thank you for your review! We're truly pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please feel free to post some of your photographs on our Facebook page to share with other travelers. When next you think of coming to Plettenberg Bay we would love to have you stay with us again. Until then, safe travels and a happy journey. Best wishes, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A beautiful hotel literally on the beach. We had a stunning view from our room which was clean, comfortable and spacious. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of good advice on local places to visit. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious in the quaint restaurant area. A fantastic stay and I would love to go back

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahj1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here. Just as you, we too look forward to having you over again. Our staff, management and owners are all very knowledgeable on what activities and attractions the Plettenberg Bay area has to offer, and there are so many that you could easily spend an eternity exploring the region. So, until then, safe journey and happy travels and all of the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, we had room 6 what a view, simply awesome stretching out over the beach. We had a lovely stay and we will return as what a place and the staff were a credit to the management with nothing to much trouble.
My only negative about this hotel,is that I think in this heat one should have a fridge to keep food and drinks cool.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_Mark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear RobertMark,
Thank you for your great review, and we sure are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor on Sea; we really enjoyed having you over. This summer is turning to be a hot one so far and we are taking your suggestion of having fridges in the rooms into consideration - Thank you for the great idea. We are looking forward to the next time you come to stay at Milkwood Manor on Sea and until then - Safe journey and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A wonderful location, the building is grand and the entrance is polished to perfection, management were very helpful on arrival, an exciting start to the most expensive hotel we selected on our trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. Then we got to our room, quick check of the emails and a shower before venturing out for the day. The room was located through an open courtyard so the wifi was intermittent to say the least, in fact, that’s generous it didn’t work in the room. Then we attempted a shower, it simply did not function – hot, cold no water pressure, to the point that is stopped completely, we raised the issue but the plumber didn’t turn up! Then we went to breakfast, very disappointing, perhaps because of what we had in the other guest houses – there were hot options to order which were fine but certain hot options were buffet style, this is not what I would expect from an expensive hotel, other cold options were out and the bagels were stale and all looked less than appetizing. We ordered brown toast with our hot breakfast – in ALL other guest houses this had been a lovely, small seeded, loaf here it was Mighty White, such a shame, with a few changes this hotel could be as amazing as it had promised on entry!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatharineHaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Katharine,
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we do appreciate your constructive criticism. Unfortunately it is true that the free Wi-Fi does not extend to all of the rooms, even though we have installed an extra strong booster some of them are just too far away from the hotspot. However, the hotspot itself is in a comfortable upstairs private lounge, whilst the service is uncapped and free of charge.

We did experience a disruption in our water supply recently but this was promptly sorted out and we can only be optimistic that the issue would not repeat itself.

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your breakfast experience, so many of our guests comment positively on this. Please note that our bagels are freshly baked every morning according to the number of guests we have, we do apologise for the disappointment this may have caused. We are definitely looking into the preparation and serving display to optimise their appeal. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our selection of cold meats and cheeses are all imported and our three different breads (which include a seed loaf) are freshly baked by our famous German baker daily.

Safe travels and a happy journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Milkwood Manor has a lot to offer: an absolute perfect location, elegant building with beautiful garden, lovely rooms with a great view, an excellent restaurant; owner Kees is a warm and very friendly person and thanks to his advices we enjoyed the area and the rest of our trip even more! we would love to come back and highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo And Marlee... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Hello Theo and Marlee, thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay at Milkwood Manor on Sea and we too would love to have you return sometime soon. Our indigenous garden is a recent addition along with the gazebo and walled parking lot, and the lovely views from the rooms are constantly changing as Mother Nature rearranges her Garden of Eden - we are so glad to hear that you appreciate this as much as we do. Do stay in touch, and until your next visit, Happy traveling....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $62 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing