We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Milkwood Manor was a great location for our 4 night stay as part of our first trip to South Africa. The longer stay allowed more time to explore the area and appreciate the beautiful beach literally on the doorstep. Milkwood is immaculately presented and maintained with a sort of old Colonial type elegance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review and comments, we do appreciate them. Let's hope that your visit to South Africa, Plettenberg Bay and Milkwood Manor was only the first of many more to come. We'd definitely be happy to welcome you back. And, we are so glad that you appreciate the "Old Colonial Charm" as we strive to maintain this impression. Friendly, relaxed and attentive is our motto. Until your next visit, safe travels from Milkwood Manor on Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 807 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here last weekend. Great location, literally right on the beach. We were on our honeymoon so the staff leave us a voucher for a bottle of bubbly, which was a lovely treat! The lemon grass restaurant wasn't open for dinner while we were there but we had a lovely dinner in the lookout deck across the beach. Also on the 2nd night Leon was very helpful in booking us a restaurant down town. Overall the service was great, and Margaret was very helpful. Will def try to return some day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galweigan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We simply loved having you over. All the management and staff at Milkwood Manor are hopeless romantics and simply adore the idea of people in love, whether newly-weds, anniversaries or engagement celebrations we reward them all with some sparkling wine and chocolate - why not! And yes, when not eating at the Lemon Grass Restaurant, Plettenberg Bay has many others to choose from - from Portuguese to African to Indian and Chinese! Variety is the spice of life! We would be honored to have you return to Milkwood Manor in the near future. We would welcome you back as friends and look forward to doing so. Best wishes and safe travels, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay the room was comfortable with a view of the bay. Watching the waves come in was great. The only downside was that it did not have any facilities for drinks during the day until 6pm when the adjoining restaurant opened. There was a bar/restaurant across the beach which was excellent when we wanted a drink after our day out. Kees was very helpful suggesting places to visit and spoke to all the guests each day at breakfast. This is a great location and very good guest house. The only down side is if you have an upstairs room there is no lift so carrying suitcases up the stairs can be a struggle. Ask for a downstairs room if this would be a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. The Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant that is attached to Milkwood Manor might have been closed on the day that you wanted to have some drinks from the bar. In the quietest period of the year they do close on Mondays but are open for Drinks, Lunch and Dinner 7-days a week throughout the rest. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please note that a porter service is available for guests who are unable/prefer not to carry their luggage up the small staircase of 14 steps. Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Milkwood Manor, as friends, upon your next visit. The first round is on us! Best wishes and safe travels, Milkwood Manor on Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Milkwood Manor is a wonderful B&B in a prime location with wonderful views of the Outinequa Mountains. Sand on Lookout Beach has returned in the last few months so is right outside the hotel. There is a very good restaurant at the hotel and the Lookout Restaurant is a short walk across the beach. The staff were friendly.The manageress was particularly helpful and knowledgeable about anything we wanted to know about in the area. We had a back room so only a view of the sea on the balcony. I would definitely ask for a sea view. The service of our room could have been improved but otherwise a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 284teresar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor, and that you love the beach as much as we do. As Plettenberg Bay has so much to offer in the way of attractions and activities all of our employees are very knowledgeable and able to offer great information on what there is to see and do in the area. next time you visit Plettenberg Bay be sure to make use of our travel desk again - we'd love to be of assistance. Until then, Best wishes and safe travels. Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found the Milkwood Manor to be a hidden treasure of Plettenberg Bay. Cozy, friendly and clean, and with a boutique feeling to it, plus a very helpful staff, we felt as if we were home. We got a sea view room so it was very nice to sit in our balcony and watch and listen to the ocean.

Room Tip: Try to go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Milkwood Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Milkwood Manor at Plettenberg Bay is superb. Would not stay anywhere else. Beautiful location overlooking the beach, rooms very comfortable with everything you need. Kees, the owner is so helpful, and a wonderful host. The staff are lovely, breakfasts and evening meals excellent.
We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6 was excellent, apart from balcony overlooking the ocean, it also has a side window which also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My question would be simply, why stay in a hotel? Knowledgeable owners, amazing views with a stunning sunrise and lovely rooms. Great place to say in Plett right on the beachfront with a great adjoining restaurant.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank edchapman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
785 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $60 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing