We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Milkwood manor is spectacular located: at the end of the road, directly at the beach.
The interieur is exquisite (maritime like expected). WLAN included.
The room was fantastic with a balcony and a view over the bay.
Every morning we've got some hints about sightseeing plus some maps and explanations by the owner Keen. He makes the rounds at breakfast and advises on things to do.

It's a perfect hideaway:
+ nice and comfortable room
+ very clean
+ good bed
+ kind and perfect service
+ very good breakfast
+ daily car wash (surprising)

Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind review - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor and were able to experience Plettenberg Bay! We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 797 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Its a great setting with wonderful hosts and all around helpful staff. Its the first hotel we have stayed in EVER that we had someone cleaning our car when we came outside. Super friendly owner who makes the rounds at breakfast and advises on things to do. We are not big bird fans but on his suggestion squeezed in 'birds of Eden'...serious surprise and was great to add t the trip. The hotel is conveniently located a 5 min walk when the tides out to another bar/restaurnat informal dining place..worth a visit. A few more additions to Milkwood manors vast fish menu (ie something non fishy..but hey its a hotel by the sea...i know I just fancied non fish for a night) and this place ticks all the boxes. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. We hope you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wow - one of the most beautiful sunrises I've ever seen! The setting is gorgeous! We were only there overnight and though there was a error with our booking, not on Milkwood Manor's end but by the group that organized our trip, they made every effort to accommodate our needs. Though they were not serving dinner while we were there in June of 2013, our breakfast was very good and Kees is knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - the sunrises are indeed the best way to start a day in Plettenberg Bay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had been looking forward to dinner at the restaurant in the manor, but was saddened to learn it was closed for renovation when we arrived. Kees, the owner, set us up with equipment to safely walk across the beach to his next favourite place. He was also very accommodating with extra lamps so we could sit outside after sunset. Breakfast was spectacular. The location can't be beat. The staff was great. The room was extremely well equipped and comfortable. We were in room #2 I believe. When asked by Kees what we could suggest he improve on, we couldn't think of a single thing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polkhi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor and we hope to welcome you back to Plettenberg Bay again soon, with a visit to our onsite Lemongrass Restaurant next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stop for a night or two in Plettenberg Bay, then Milkwood Manor is the place to stay. It is situated right on the beach adjacent to the estuary - first class position. The owner can fill you in on the flood 5 years ago that gave them absolute waterfront! The rooms are light and airy and ours had a balcony with views of both the sea and the mountains. The restaurant looks fabulous but it was closed for the winter, but there is another restaurant built right on the rocks, just a 100m walk across the beach. Wonderful!

Room Tip: If you are facing the front door of the manor, the room on the 1st floor, on the right hand corner h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wings905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review of Milkwood Manor. We are very fortunate with our lovely sea and mountain views! We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Truly lovely location right on the beach. Beautiful rooms, lovely to have your breakfast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Kees the owner comes around to help you plan what to do for the day after your breakfast. Well worth eating in the restaurant too, we had the 3 fillet special, kudu, beef & Ostrich...it was fab...don't haver a starter if you want a desert too unless you have a massive appetite!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed all that Milkwood Manor and Lemongrass Restaurant have to offer! We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Milkwood Manor this time last year and have returned for seven days because it is a great time of year to be in Plett, the weather is excellent, not too many people completing for bookings at the excellent resturants (which includes Lemon Grass) and the wide variety of activities in Plett and the surrounding areas.
What brings us back to Milkwood Manor is the location, the comfort and serenity of the accommodation, the attention to detail,and Kees plus team who makes you feel so welcome without overcrowding you and good honest to goodness value for money.
For those who have the time Plettenberg Bay is a destintation not just a place to spend a night or two as there is so much to do and so many excellent resturants to enjoy catch up time with your partner and/or friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Margie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

You have paid us the greatest compliment anybody can give us and that is to re-visit Milkwood Manor. And that for as long as a week as well. Thank you, we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Plett. Best wishes from Kees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
760 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
375 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing