We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Nearby Hotels
Sea Breeze(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$77
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett Beachfront Accommodation(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
113 on Robberg(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Watch Guest House(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T'Niqua Stable Inn(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$53
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$547
$532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamodi Lodge(The Crags)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$240
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveler rating
617
184
40
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
184
40
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemongrass restaurantrestaurant attachedcar washgarden routeevery morningsuperb locationindian oceansituated rightthe ground floorlookout beachfirst floorfantastic viewsguest housesecure parkingbeautiful roomrooms are spaciousbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 853 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Kees the owner greeted us on arrival and then came outside and sat with us and showed us all maps and things to do in Plett Bay - really helpfull. Our room must have been the best, wrap round balcony (room 12) so light and airy. Ceiling fan great, no need for aircon as you have the see breeze. The hotel was spotless clean and the staff great. Breakfast was good and if you didn't want the full English there was fruit, cheese, hams and they would cook you an omlette of your choice if you required. As we had to leave at 5.30 am to drive to Camps Bay the staff made us up fresh sandwiches, fruit and drink to take with us. We will be back for sure, thank you.

Room Tip: Go for room 12, top floor, lots of windows, overlooks everywhere and sunny
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. We endeavour to ensure that each guest has the best possible experience at Milkwood Manor and hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friends of mine from the UK have just spent 6 nights at the above B/B, they were promised a balcony facing sea facing room. On arrival the room had a lovely view but no balcony and they were paying a high season rate. When they requested a telephone in the room, this was unavailable, which in this day and age is totally unacceptable. The restaurent had been let out for all meals other than breakfast which had to be eaten between 8:00 and 9:00. If they perhaps wanted a a mid-morning drink, i.e: tea or coffee this was unavailable.An establisment of this nature certainly does not deserve a 4 star retaing and it;s sad that overseas visators will reurn to the UK and never recommend it. From MaGoose1

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We understand that you did not personally visit Milkwood Manor and feel that there are a few points that need to be addressed. Firstly, this booking was made via a tour operator and this “promise” of a balcony room was in no way confirmed by Milkwood Manor.
In fact, the confirmation email clearly stated: “confirm that an upstairs room with a view of the ocean from the bedroom, queen bed and en-suite bathroom has been booked for them. There is no balcony on this room”. This was explained to the guests at the time and they were aware that should be taken up with their tour operator.
Secondly, in this “day and age” most travellers carry mobile phones and the Milkwood Manor portable phone was made available to these guests for their private conversation.
Thirdly, tea and coffee is made available in the room of each guest, for their convenience.
We feel it is important to note that Milkwood Manor is a Guest House and not a Hotel and amenities differ between these. At Milkwood Manor, we endeavour to offer each guest the best possible service and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for our last to nights of our holiday sadly we didn't get a sea view as we were hoping but we did just turn up rather than book!! Our room was light & clean but quite basic but was ok. All the staff were very friendly & helpfull & made our stay lovely, breakfast was not the best after what we had had in other places we had stayed but ok. We had dinner in the resterant which was really good the steak was fab!! So over all a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Milkwood Manor. We are very grateful for your feedback, as we use this to improve our service at Milkwood Manor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have family in South Africa ( East London and Cape Town) and usually drive EL to CPT. We like to break up the trip and last year decided to stop in Plet. This hotel is in a tranquil setting and we had a very relaxing stay. The staff and host was very friendly and we shall go back the next time we have a chance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Milkwood Manor. Plettenberg Bay is indeed a wonderful place for an overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Milkwood Manor and Plett again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on a holiday in South Africa. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms are large and comfortable and the service is excellent. I'd happily recommend it to anyone holidaying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NeilNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Milkwood Manor and look forward to welcoming you back to the Manor again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews