We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stars, sand and tides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right next to the estuary of the Keurbooms River, you are constantly aware of the moon, tides and the daily routine of the seabirds. On a clear night, the view of the stars from the flat-topped roof is spectacular. We were there in mid-winter, in the mild weather between two cold fronts, and it was a wonderful break from the daily grind of our inland city. As others have commented, the restaurant has great food and large windows making the most of the expanse of estuary, beach and mountain range outside.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the river is has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZA_reisiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you had good weather and enjoyed the natural beauty surrounding Milkwood Manor. The Manor, Lemongrass Restaurant and the views will be waiting for you when you next return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 797 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of our Road Trip. The hotel is located right on the ocean - amazing. We could see dolphins from our beautiful terrace. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice big bed and the bath tub was a treat. Make sure you eat in the restaurant at the hotel called The Lemongrass. Really delicious, fantastic seafood, great wines and really good service from the staff. Tip: wake up to see the sunrise over the ocean - unforgettable.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank skye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Milkwood Manor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the dolphins decided to visit - a Plettenberg Bay sunrise is so wonderful to watch from Milkwood Manor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic location right next to the sea. Lovely accommodation with a great restaurant. Staff friendly, helpful and very informative. Wished we had stayed more than 1 night. Would highly recommend and look forward to staying there again. Only 1 concern - how to get out in case of fire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtraShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to having you visit Milkwood Manor again soon! As we are always striving to improve on each guest's experience and our guest's comfort and safety are a priority, we have set steps in motion to ensure that our emergency plans are more accessible to guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's not very often that I actually write reviews, however after staying one night at Milkwood on our trip down the Garden route, I thought I should share with you all how amazing this place is. Booking & check in was friendly, straight forward & efficient, the welcome was warm & the room.... well it was fabulous with stunning views of the lagoon & sea. We ate a divine dinner in the lemongrass restaurant, with excellent service from the waiters. Breakfast the following morning was equally as nice. Unfortunately we could only stay one night as our schedule wouldn't allow any more.... I could've easily stayed a week in this calm, tranquil, beautiful manor. Needless to say, I will highly recommend Milkwood to anyone I know travelling in the area & if I am ever back iin SA from the UK, I will plan my trip around this guest house.... thanks Milkwood!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are a must as the views are unbelievable. We had room 12 with a wrap around balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate the time that you took to recommend Milkwood Manor. We are always striving to improve the Milkwood Manor experience and we hope to see you again when you are next in South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A wonderful, friendly and personal hotel. All the staff were so friendly and really accomodating and Kees in particular went out of his way to ensure we were well looked after. We found a very rare family member of the pansy shell, and Kees was so kind to give us one of his pansy shells to make a collections set! We highly recommend a stay at this spot crafted by nature!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking the sea or river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. Be sure to keep those Pansy Shells safe and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My companion and I could not fault this lovely place. The setting and the view are beautiful. The hotel is very warm and welcoming. All staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We highly recommend Milkwood Manor and will return one day. Managers Margaret and Kees went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to return and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent one night at Milkwood Manor and upon arrival were already told we would regret not staying longer - which ended up to be very true. The setting is just beautiful, the scenery amazing and the rooms wonderfully decorated. We can only recommend the food at the LemonGrass restaurant, which belongs to Milkwood Manor and has a beautiful terrace facing the sea. Kees gave us great advise for our onward journey. Hopefully, we can come back some time...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your visit and kind review! You are right, one will always wish to stay longer in Plettenberg Bay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
763 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $96 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing