We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay at Milkwood Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb stay at Milkwood Manor”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's not very often that I actually write reviews, however after staying one night at Milkwood on our trip down the Garden route, I thought I should share with you all how amazing this place is. Booking & check in was friendly, straight forward & efficient, the welcome was warm & the room.... well it was fabulous with stunning views of the lagoon & sea. We ate a divine dinner in the lemongrass restaurant, with excellent service from the waiters. Breakfast the following morning was equally as nice. Unfortunately we could only stay one night as our schedule wouldn't allow any more.... I could've easily stayed a week in this calm, tranquil, beautiful manor. Needless to say, I will highly recommend Milkwood to anyone I know travelling in the area & if I am ever back iin SA from the UK, I will plan my trip around this guest house.... thanks Milkwood!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are a must as the views are unbelievable. We had room 12 with a wrap around balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate the time that you took to recommend Milkwood Manor. We are always striving to improve the Milkwood Manor experience and we hope to see you again when you are next in South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    156
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
537
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A wonderful, friendly and personal hotel. All the staff were so friendly and really accomodating and Kees in particular went out of his way to ensure we were well looked after. We found a very rare family member of the pansy shell, and Kees was so kind to give us one of his pansy shells to make a collections set! We highly recommend a stay at this spot crafted by nature!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking the sea or river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. Be sure to keep those Pansy Shells safe and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My companion and I could not fault this lovely place. The setting and the view are beautiful. The hotel is very warm and welcoming. All staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We highly recommend Milkwood Manor and will return one day. Managers Margaret and Kees went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to return and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent one night at Milkwood Manor and upon arrival were already told we would regret not staying longer - which ended up to be very true. The setting is just beautiful, the scenery amazing and the rooms wonderfully decorated. We can only recommend the food at the LemonGrass restaurant, which belongs to Milkwood Manor and has a beautiful terrace facing the sea. Kees gave us great advise for our onward journey. Hopefully, we can come back some time...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your visit and kind review! You are right, one will always wish to stay longer in Plettenberg Bay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Summerstrand and what a delight it was. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the terrace bar and restaurant staff. The view is really beautiful and was opened up six years ago when a huge storm ripped through the area and washed away the swimming pool and the end of the strand. The new restaurant makes the most of the lagoon view where we watched a seal and her pup playing. It was my husband's birthday on the day we left but the hotel still presented him with a half bottle of bubbly which was a charming touch. Kees even walked us to our car as we left. An excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Request an ocean or lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Milkwood Manor and for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the views from both the Manor and the Lemongrass Restaurant - hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night at Milkwood Manor but ended up staying two. The Manor is beautifully appointed and although we didn't have a seafront room the views where still spectacular.
The staff was excellent and very helpful advising us on things to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are so glad you decided to stay an additional night. There is so much to see and do in the Plettenberg Bay area, you always need more time!
We hope to have you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Milkwood Manor for 2 nights. I am so glad I chose this place. The manor itself and the rooms are very nice indeed. Everyone was most welcoming and as an added bonus you could go up on the rooftop to where they have a live webcame so you can wave to friends back home while you are there. Also another bonus is the car wash for guests staying there. Our car was particularly dirty after driving thru Kruger etc but the lovely young man working there had it sparkling before we headed out for the day. Then he did the same thing the next day. Their dinning room has beautiful views out over the water which we appreciated while eating our breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Milkwood Manor in Plettenberg Bay and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Property: Milkwood Manor on Sea
Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing