We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Milkwood manor. The position of the hotel is unbeatable- our room on the ground floor opened onto a little patio right by the water- it was beautiful to watch the tide come up in the evening and the view of the sunrise the next morning was superb! The staff were very friendly and helpful, even lending our kids some things to play with on the beach. Dinner at the restaurant there(Lemongrass) was beautiful too. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaH115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwood69, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your review, AnnaH115 - we are very fortunate that nature has given Milkwood Manor such lovely natural surroundings and we appreciate them every day. Hope to see you again very soon. Greetings from Plett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Milkwood Manor on Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 786 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Milkwood Manor as part of our honeymoon for 2 nights. The property occupies a superb location right by the sea over looking a sand bank/island which you may reach using the Manors complimentary canoes. Our room was on first floor with fantastic views over the bay, the bed was very comfy and the room had everything you needed (free wifi also a bonus).

The staff were all really friendly and helpful and very kindly the maids ironed some of my clothes for me. Being winter it was very quiet and sadly the highly rated Lemongrass restaurant was now closed. However breakfast was excellent and the owner Kess was on hand for a friendly chat and was a mind of information about what to do and see in the local area.

With the restaurant closed there aren’t any dining options close by and Plett town centre is a bit of a hike so you really need a car, we tried one taxi firm but they weren’t operating that night. We were recommended ‘The Market’ to go and eat at, essentially this is a number of food stalls operated by locals, there are pizzas, steaks, seafood, sushi, Mexican. And Chinese cooking on offer as well as crepes for desert. We were a little put off at first as there were a huge number of people there and no table that appeared free (it was a Friday night). All the tables are picnic tables and we might have left if the it weren’t for the owner/chef of the seafood stall welcoming us and some locals making room for us. We’re really glad we stayed as we had some great food and chatted with some locals for a few hours as a result in addition to having the best fillet steak and seafood we had during our time in SA all at an unbelievable low price. Another bonus you can’t buy alcohol here-you just bring your own! There was also live entertainment in the form of a talented solo guitarist.

We came the following night and it was dead, some stalls were shut we ate from the Chinese stall and this was really below par compared to the quality of the food we ate the night before.

There is much to do and see within relative close proximity to the hotel, Monkey Land and the Elephant sanctuary were highlights for us.

We really enjoyed our stay at Milkwood Manor and if you are thinking of staying in the area would highly recommend it. As previously said the location is best if you have a car but it is a small sacrifice to have those views!

Andrew & Alison

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the bay!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwood69, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks, Alison and Andrew, for your kind review of Milkwood Manor. Congratulations on your marriage and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. Thank you for your feedback on both Milkwood Manor and the area - we find this feedback very useful.

We hope to see you both again soon. Greetings from Plett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Milkwood manor over a weekend in May and truly enjoyed it. What more than to sit next to the ocean and relax. The owners and staff are very friendly and the rooms spacious and very comfortable. Very convenient to have the restaurant at disposition with excellent choice and food.
All a must when in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excellentopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Arrived from Knysna and wished we'd gone straight to Milkwood Manor we stayed in a room for three (room 3) on the ground floor with an idyllic view and spacious accommodation. The Lemongrass Restaurant presented an excellent choice of locally sourced food and turned out to be a real treat at a very reasonable price. Kayaks were available to row the 5 minutes across a river mouth to an unspoilt spectacular beach head. Overall, it will stay fondly in our memories as a wonderful stay in South Africa.

Room Tip: Room 3 for three on the ground floor. Great views
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in south Africa and sitting sitting here in the dreary weather that is synonymous with the UK we are courting the days before we return to this stunning gem of a place that is Milkwood manor. Our stay far exceeded our expectations. So much so we returned 2days later cutting our stay at another place further up the coast to return to the delight and tranquility of Milkwood manor. We were made especially welcome by Margaret, and Kees is a one off in terms of the owner. Both took time to get know us without being intrusive. The quality of the room we had on our return was spectacular we could have stayed forever. The lemongrass restaurant was superb and we would say served the best food we experienced throughout our stay. It would stand in good competition with any of the top restaurants in cape town. For any reading this review we would strongly urge you to stay there....like us you will fall in love with the place and plettenberg bay. We will be back next year.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A relaxing and enjoyable stay with beautiful sunsets over the ocean.Clean and comfortable room with nice balcony to enjoy the view of the lagoon and ocean. Great breakfasts outside or inside depending on weather. Highly reccomend the food at the restaurant.Owner very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently held our daughter's wedding at Milkwood Manor, using the in-house Lemongrass Restaurant for the reception.
It is hard to imagine more beautiful views from the sea-facing bedrooms. The accommodation was clean and spacious, the staff friendly and helpful and Kees, Milkwood's owner, was a mine of information with his local knowledge. We enjoyed our little adventure in one of the kayaks, available for guests' use. An unexpected treat was the daily free car wash!
The Lemongrass restaurant serves wonderful food and all our guests commented on how good the meals were.
We shall most definitely return to this very special place.

Room Tip: Worth getting the sea-facing or lagoon-facing rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $57 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing