We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

good:
-friendly staff
-seaview but ask for a room on the top floor or your view is not as good
-nice breakfast
not so good
-parking!antisocial people from other rooms putting their cars in your spot and no staff to deal with that (all are left at 8PM)
-bit impersonal, it's not the B&B experience like with the owners on site and present

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Periwinkle Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The title sums op the Periwinkle Lodge. We had a sea view room, overlooking the bay. large, well appointed, good bathroom. The breakfasts are made to order, anything you want within reason, buffet as well for extras. free wine in the evening to mingle with other guests was nice, afternoon tea and cake also free. Good position near beach and town but in a quiet area of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkongandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a exceptionally lovely hotel fantastic location very friendly and helpful! and then to top it all all the little extras that made our stay absolutely wonderful! The hotel overlooks the sea its a very lovely safe place to stay.

Room Tip: Im sure all the rooms are great
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent three nights at periwinkle and, despite them all being cold, wet and windy we had a great time. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and Pascalette even found and posted to me in the UK a note book that I had left behind. The views ( when it wasn't raining ) were great. It is a bit out of town though with no restaurants close. We like walking, so it was OK for us, but could be an issue for some. If we go back to Plettenberg then we would have no hesitation in staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Well, we were not originally planning to visit Plettenberg Bay, but we are very glad we did. So much to do in the area, including Elephant Sanctuary, Monkeyland, Birdworld and great beaches, plus good boat trips out to see the whales. Pascallette the owner is a lovely lady and very very accomodating. All the people who help her run the lodge are all also very lovely and helpful. The room we had (no. 3) was just fine for what we wanted, but we spent very little time in there as its like a family home that you can wander around, including using the kitchen facilities and a trusting honesty box for drinks of wine etc from the fridge.The view from the lodge is right over the beach and you can easily see Whales / Dolphins at the right time of year. There is an Infinity pool, which we used both mornings (a little cold at end of October, but very refreshing) and it was great to have a dip before a very nice breakfast. If we return to Plett when we come back to SA we will stay here again without doubt.... It is more designed for a couples trip, but if you are a small family with an older child its also very suitable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingamonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nice hotel with good service (in the morning all guests' cars were cleaned!). Pascalette takes personal care on all the guests and their requests. Perfect view from the balcony directly to the sea. We absolutely can recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I spent three wonderful days at this lovely guesthouse.
The Position, with Plettenberg Bay view is fantastic. The service and hospitality of all the staff at the highest level that can be expected.
Whales was look from the balcony of our room and from the dining room.
Anyone who wants to enjoy a visit of one hundred percent in Plettenberg Bay, may do so from this charming place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Address: 75 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $187 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periwinkle Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periwinkle Lodge is an up-market guest lodge that is ideally situated with stunning ocean and mountain views. The Lodge offers en suite facilities all with their own balcony. The upstairs suites have private patio or balcony. Generous English or continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining room or on the Patio or balcony. Enjoy the warm ambiance that has been created to be the ultimate in hospitality, in an ocean-front mansion that lends itself to relaxation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Periwinkle Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Guest Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing