We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”
Review of Bayside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely couple of nights stay in Plett, and found Baydside to be an absolute gem of a place! Adrienne and Bernie were fabulous hosts throughout. We were met with an ice cold drink and given a full and comprehensive introduction the lodge and to Plett itself. We stayed in the Honeysuckle room - a jacuzzi after surfing/bungy jumping and everything else was heavenly, not to mention very novel! Everything had been thought of, through to beach towels and loungers to borrow. On explaining that we would be missing breakfast one of the days, a fantastic packed breakfast was prepared for us which sustained us through until supper! Adrienne and Bernie were also fascinating to chat too, and we managed to put away a fair amount of sherry doing just that. The only VERY minor inconvenience was the distance from Plett main street which is walkable...if you like a good 25min uphill walk! The taxi service that is recommend in the information booklet was great though- was there in minutes, was well prices, and also collected us after an evening in town. Can't recommend Bayside Lodge enough, and I hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so much for this great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time around Plett and at Bayside - that jacuzzi is very popular! We enjoyed getting to know you and hope to see you again soon! There are plenty more of those adrenalin pumping activities you still need to do!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Bayside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at Bayside lodge in January 2014 and were really impressed and could find no fault. The rooms were comfortable and spotless with several nice extra touches. The breakfast was the best of our whole trip with a wide choice. Therefore we were disappointed to be advised that the Guest house had changed hands but having read the comments posted since the change over it seems that Bayside is still highly regarded. We will be staying in Plett again and if the new team keep up this high standard Bayside would be are choose.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 785JOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to follow Bayside's posts and for writing this review. We are so happy to be here and 100% committed to carrying Lindy's seamless hospitality into the future. We have so many ambitions and plans to make Bayside even better and we do feel that by living on the property we are adding an extra dimension of hands on hosting. Martha and Ntombi are still here making those delicious breakfasts and we look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Bayside again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very friendly and warm welcome awaited us. Thank you for helping us to keep the grapes frozen and not wanting a sent for it. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very friendly. Rooms were very clean and they even supplied bathing towels for the sea, thanks we forgot. I will recommend you to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alberta5313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

It was wonderful to meet you all and thank you for the kind words. I hope the grapes were a hit at the wedding and the rest of your trip went well. Thank you so much for the delicious Hanepoort grapes which are only finishing now - guests have raved about them on our breakfast platters! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are a family of four from the UK, a 5 year old and a 3 month old. The new owners could not have been more friendly, more helpful or more hospitable. Our stay was amazing. We were met with complimentary drinks, warm rolled face towels, porter to carry our bags....what a welcome! rooms top spec. pool top spec. food top spec. Highly reccomended


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thanks so much for the review and the "porter" was thrilled to receive your compliment!! It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us and hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very friendly, helpful People. The Breakfast Buffet was excellent.
The Location ist very quiet.
Ther ist a Walking distance to Robberg Beach, app. 10 Minutes.
We enjoyed our Stay it very much. Thank you für the beautiful days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My Partner and I were the first guests of the new owners Adrianne and Bernie. We had a lovely welcome and was shown to the Honeysuckle suite. A lovely sized room and big bathroom with a Jazzuci Bath and a shower. Adrianne pointed us in the right direction of the local attractions and restaurants. Our first morning Adrianne and her staff were nice enough prepare our breakfast early as we had booked to go to Tenikwa for the day.

A lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love the walk to the beach. The room was very spacious with everything we need. The hosts and staff are friendly and attentive. The price was great. Homely feel with excellent Breakfast. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 180MAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
285 reviews
3.6 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Lodge

Address: 5 Sanganer Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Lodge, A five bedroomed owner run Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positioned with its proximity to Plett's magnificent beaches, the famous Robberg Nature Reserve, shopping centres, restaurants, sporting facilities (including world class golf courses) and a perfect base from which to explore the Garden Route. We offer quality hospitality and accommodation to suite everyone's taste - be it your honeymoon or a family holiday. Set in a quiet residential area, a mere 3 minutes walk from Robberg beach, Bayside encompasses peace and tranquility with quality accommodation and all the amenities of a four star lodge. We offer personalised service combined with a warm and "home from home" atmosphere. Scrumptious complimentary English and Continental breakfasts are served in the dining room or patio overlooking a tranquil garden with a secluded salt-water pool. Enjoy a sundowner on the patio and watch the birds coming to our birdfeeders and birdbaths in the beautiful garden. There is off street parking and a comfortable guest lounge with lots of references books, brochures and restaurant menus. Wifi and sherry are also included in the room rate and we provide beach towels, games, umbrellas and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing