We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 and 3 quarters star rating.”
Review of Bayside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 and 3 quarters star rating.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Adrianne. She and Bernie had just had their 1st week at this property which was a surprise to us, but wow! Her enthusiasm over this new venture for them both was enviable.
Having previously managed some of the bigger game lodges they have brought the 5 star service to this very comfortable property.
Just a 3 minute walk from the fabulous Robberg beach and a short drive (or taxi ride) to some excellent restaurants,(Nguni being the best that we tried).
We would definitely stay again if we get chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are thrilled you picked up our enthusiasm about this gorgeous property! Bayside is a special property oozing homely charm and we just love sharing it with our guests. I hope you will visit Plett again some time to see more additions to Bernie's bar as we finish our unpacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    33
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
149
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent three nights at Bayside and were treated like royalty. Clean, fresh rooms, wonderful breakfast, fantastic location and hosts that bent over backwards to make us feel at home. I heartily recommend Bayside as a must-stop on your Garden Route adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushmanparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magny-le-Hongre, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We so enjoyed staying five nights in this guest house. Conveniently located near the ocean and not far from the town center but most of all the hospitability shown to us by Lindy was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It made our stay all the more enjoyable. We wish her all the best on her new ventures.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were one of the first guests that new owners Bernie and Adrienne had to stay. Their friendly welcome and willingness to help and advise showed that they had been in the hospitality industry for a while and knew how to make guests feel at home. The room we stayed in was sunny, spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. An ample and tasty breakfast was provided. I was impressed with the provision of towels, umbrellas and other beach equipment which is a tremendous help for those who have flown in or come from overseas. The proximity to the beautiful Robberg Beach is a big plus. We would certainly recommend Bayside Lodge and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisheagle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We had the honour and privilege to be the last guests Lindy welcomed and bid farewell to before the Lodge changed ownership and she moved on. We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses around the world and the welcome and service we were given by Lindy was second to none. We were treated like friends or family throughout and nothing was too much trouble.
Bayside Lodge is a delightful Guest house and the attention to detail makes it stand out from the competition. Small details like beach chairs, towels and umbrellas available for international guests to take down to the beach or detailed menus and descriptions for all the restaurants in Plettenberg available so that guests can choose a suitable venue to eat,accompanied by a town plan giving exact locations. Lindy had thought of everything!
We wish the new owners well and look forward to returning to see how they move it forward.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
733 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Lodge

Property: Bayside Lodge
Address: 5 Sanganer Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Lodge, A five bedroomed owner run Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positioned with its proximity to Plett's magnificent beaches, the famous Robberg Nature Reserve, shopping centres, restaurants, sporting facilities (including world class golf courses) and a perfect base from which to explore the Garden Route. We offer quality hospitality and accommodation to suite everyone's taste - be it your honeymoon or a family holiday. Set in a quiet residential area, a mere 3 minutes walk from Robberg beach, Bayside encompasses peace and tranquility with quality accommodation and all the amenities of a four star lodge. We offer personalised service combined with a warm and "home from home" atmosphere. Scrumptious complimentary English and Continental breakfasts are served in the dining room or patio overlooking a tranquil garden with a secluded salt-water pool. Enjoy a sundowner on the patio and watch the birds coming to our birdfeeders and birdbaths in the beautiful garden. There is off street parking and a comfortable guest lounge with lots of references books, brochures and restaurant menus. Wifi and sherry are also included in the room rate and we provide beach towels, games, umbrellas and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing