We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of course, we're going back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Of course, we're going back...”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This was our 4th time at Fynbos Ridge and the 3 weeks went by so fast. It was a wonderful stay...everything was simply to our satisfaction and beyond: from the atmosphere, the staff, the location and especially the food. Martin's breakfast omelettes and desserts are terrific and who needs to go to a restaurant when Brian (the owner) will cook you the most amazing dishes: say lamb (or fish/chicken/pasta) and he'll delightfully surprise you with his creations. He's even made my fish-averse husband love cod!
This is our home away from home...the Phillips are such warm people, who wants to stay elsewhere...yes, we'll be back.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fräulein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Friendly and knowledgeable management and staff help to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable by providing information on the area and what there is to see and do.

The view from the pool is amazing on a clear day and if you are into bird watching, there is a lot of info available in your room on the birds that are in the grounds.

Excellent set menu dinner is cooked in the farmhouse style kitchen attached to the dining room, however if you wish to eat out there is a drive involved, however this wasn't a problem for us as we eat at the Fynbos Ridge 4 out of 5 nights.

A wide selection of DVDs are available for viewing in your room if you are that way inclined.

It felt like home from home, so much so that we didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnoxHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

After a night spent in a not up to standard central Plettenburg Bay hotel, I arrived at Fynbos desperate for some rest, relaxation and most importantly good service. Everyone at Fynbos surpassed themselves. This is truly a magical place, wonderful serivce, nothing was too much trouble, amazing newly redecorated cottage, great food from Brian... I could go on and on.

Absolutely wonderful - i wish i could have stayed for longer and will definitley be returning! Perfect combination of being close to Plett (easy to visit etc) but in a wonderful, calm setting so you can escape when you want to (we visited in peak season in Dec/Jan).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epicureans
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This B&B is hidden away from Plet and Knysna with stunning views over the mountains in a magnificent garden. The owners, Liz and Brian, looked after us extremely well and we would recommend anyone to sample Brian's cooking! Martin is one of the most efficient and informative managers you will find anywhere. We would definitely go again if in the area. The cottage was private and superbly equipped, with a most comfortable bed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We loved this hotel not only for the wonderful Fynbos garden and views of the Tsittsikama Mountain range, not only because of the very large and comfortable suite in this elegant old house, but also for the warmth of the welcome from the owners Brian and Liz and the manager Martin who serves up terrific breakfasts and strives to make every aspect of your stay enjoyable.
There are cottages in the gardens as well as comfortable rooms and reception rooms int he main hosue, a pool with a view to die for, and a beautiful terrace on which to relax and have drinks or take breakfast. Dinner is also available at a very reasonable price if requested.
Given what is available in Plett this hotel constitutes very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Fynbos Ridge. It has been like time is staying still. No problems, only peace. No better place for relaxing. The view has been great, the weather nice and Brian the best cook in town. Only one problem: Too far from Germany to come there tiwce or three times a year for relaxing. But coming back to SA is returning to Fynbos Ridge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mertensfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We spent 5 nights in one of the well-equipped cottages and it was our little bit of heaven on earth. Breakfast was served in the main house where we were greeted every morning by smiling staff who were always able to recommend ways we might spend our day. A wonderful selection of fruit, meats, cheeses and freshly baked croissants and muffins set us up for the days' activities. My husband even enjoyed a cooked breakfast too-don't know where he found space to put it!
When the weather was kind to us, it was hard to move away from the cottage. The gardens and birds here were beautiful and the views from the patio of endless fynbos with a backdrop of mountains were constantly changing with the changing light.
When the weather was not so kind, it was still hard to move from the cottage as we had a big log fire to snuggle in front of. There was a good selection of books and DVDs available for guests. On our arrival, there was a selection of drinks and snacks already provided and on the evening when it rained, a meal was brought to our cottage by Brian - owner and excellent chef.
I think we had his wife to thank for the quality of the artwork throughout the cottage and the main house. She has a real artistic talent and eye for detail. The quality of the bedlinen with lavender placed on the pillows, the high standard of bathroom fittings with local products to pamper and indulge the guests made the place feel like our home for the duration of the holiday.
'PLETT' had lots of restaurants, beautiful beaches, shops to suit everyone and a wide range of activities within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alba15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing