We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just Love Fynbosridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We just Love Fynbosridge”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love it so much at Fynbosridge, it feels like our holiday home in Plett!!
Well done Brian and Liz for creating this beautiful retreat! Fynbosridge is the 'hightlight' on our agenda during our travels.
From Rene and Mel from Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CarlPrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. It's such a beautiful place and our cottage was amazing. The owners were very welcoming and the staff was also very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the location is also just perfect, very close to both Knysna and Plett. I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a stunning place. So close to the action in both Plettenberg and Kysna and yet so tranquil and peaceful. Our cottage was perfect for our family (2 adults and 2 children) with 2 good sized bedrooms and each with own bathroom. In between was a large lounge and well equipped kitchen. To the rear was a lovely terrace to relax, have a BBQ and take in the stunning view over the forest valley. The marked walks were great as was the pool and if you like animals there are plenty around to admire ( both wild and domestic!). And to cap it all, our hosts were tremendous serving great breakfasts and making us feel at home. And if you ask nicely Brian is a superb cook and serves great evening meals and we even had our roast lamb and trimmings brought to our cottage

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

....we could have stayed longer. Great location, great rooms, fanastic views, really, really beautiful place. Ideally located for Plet and Knysna, pool a bit small, but superb location for sundowners. Absolutely recommed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was only by chance that we found this place (flight from PE to CT was cancelled so we had to drive it ) and all I can say is that this is beautiful - tucked away just outside Plett on a nature reserve - peace, tranquility and a top notch stay from us - just a pity we couldn't stay longer but we'll be back for our trip along the garden route

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 497SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful setting, and wonderful friendly, humane, first rate service. We only stayed 1 night, but I can see why people stay a full week or longer. Away from Plett's busier pace, but only 10 minutes drive if you want the big town. Pool with (great) view, huge rooms, eye for detail, gorgeous aesthetic in every room, world class indigenous gardens, talking-point pet pig, best breakfast we've had in many years of travel on SA's roads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank harryd498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a tour round SA. Our cottage was just gorgeous, with every last detail though through carefully to make sure you have the most pleasant stay. The dinig here in the evening was excellent, with an honesty bar making you feel like you were really at home. The setting is positively bucolic, with gorgeous plantings and water features. The swimming pool is tucked away in a hidden niche and was a great place to cool down and watch the birds skimming overhead. This was real luxury but without any snob ones or pretension, just good, friendly, quality service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing