We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are a family with 2 little boys (2 & 4) and we were very happy with the cottage. The rooms are very nice, big and everything is very clean! Nice area and lovely pool. Very friendly owner and staff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 251 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been in different places every day and THIS place was definately the BEST.
She warm greeting and friendly people. The breakfast was so nice. The place is peacefull and extremely neat. Thank YOU!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shereen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 glorious days at Fynbos Ridge and hated to leave. Brian and Liz are outstanding hosts who go the extra mile for their guests. As bird watchers, we were able to see a variety of new birds from the luxury of our comfy bed because there was a strategically placed bird feeder directly opposite our glass doors. This gave bird watching a whole new definition. The only reason we managed to leave our room was because we knew that a freshly prepared gourmet breakfast prepared by Brian was awaiting us. Staying here was the closest thing to Paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Liz and Brian have one of the most idyllic spots in Plett!

Fynbos Ridge is absolutely breathtaking. The most beautiful spot with gorgeous gardens. Nothing is too much trouble for the team and everything is of only the best quality. The best quality linen, fully-fitted kitchen and exquisite finishings make for a beautiful home.

When we went for breakfast the one morning, one of the gentlemen who work there even asked us to move the car for him so that he could wash it for us!

We had dinner at the main house the one evening and were not disappointed! Brian's cooking skills are amazing.

Their gardens left us inspired to make ours like theirs one day.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't warm enough for swimming, but their pool and the views from it are stunning.

It has taken us a year to write this review, but we think that shows that this spot is deeply entrenched in our minds.

We hope to see you soon again, Fynbos Ridge and would suggest that anyone making their way to Plett stays there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneCapeTown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First of all I should say that Liz and Brian are excellent hosts. The gardens that surround the main houses and the garden cottages are absolutely delightful and the variety of bird-life is second to none. We had a great room with a lovely view to the mountains, a super breakfast is on offer and if Brian is cooking in the evening I would recommend sampling his cuisine. I would be happy to recommend Fynbos Ridge to others and it will be on our list when we return to South Africa. Very well placed for visiting anywhere from Plett to Storms River.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PIERHEADWAPPING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

In November, we stayed 4 nights at Fynbos Ridge and enjoyed our stay a lot. The couple is so carrying and fulfilled every wish we had. The house we stayed at was very clean, huge and spacious for family with kids. The kitchen fully equipped. We were not allowed to clean up the kitchen or even the outside grill we used ;-) It was done every morning by staff. The breakfast was very lovely prepared and tasted great. The quietness of nature around gave us peace and harmony and a very relaxing stay. Especially for families, the stay at Fynbos Ridge is absolutely recommendable! Even the house is located 5 minutes outside from Plettenberg Bay, it is a good starting point for all acitivities in the area of Plettenberg Bay an Knysna. Every point of interest can be reached within half an hour by car.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very peaceful and beautiful setting. Excellent accommodation - we had a "studio" but it was huge with a full kitchen, spacious living/dining area and a swish bathroom. Bed very comfortable and whole place immaculately clean. Public rooms very comfortable and verandah magnificent. Owners very friendly and helpful - pet pig (Truffle!) very cute - also several friendly dogs.

Altogether very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
389 reviews
5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $176 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing