We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and our two kids spent two knights in a cottage. It was just exceptional in terms of quality of the breakfast, the cotag itself was spatious and well decorated and finaly we had the pleasure to taste Brian'food, it was just fabolous. Thank you Liz and Brian for the time we pent at Fynbos Ridge. It will remain in our memory.
Veronique & Geoffroy
France

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geoffroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge in the main house for two nights at the end of March. Close to Plett and Knysna but just out of town so that it feel totally peaceful, this beautiful place overlooks a valley and has spectacular views. It is worth taking the time to walk around the property and down to the pool.

The house is comfortable and wonderfully decorated (including with Liz's artwork!) The bedrooms are huge and charming - each is unique. Beds were comfortable and it was impeccably clean. My room also had a little balcony. Breakfast was perfect - one of the most delicious omelettes I've had. Liz and Brian both have such a lovely and hospitable manner. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - and your kind words. We appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge for two nights in a cottage and have nothing but the highest praise for Brian, Liz and their property. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, not a detail was overlooked. Our cottage was immaculately clean and perfect in every way. The view from the patio spanned miles across the horizon. Sitting on the patio after a day out and about with wine and the wood burning fire going may have been the highlight of our trip. The food at Fynbos Ridge is second to none. We had dinner brought to our cottage the first night and had a mixed grill. The main course, various side dishes, and dessert were all truly fantastic. We enjoyed our dinner so much that we had dinner the second night as well, which was every bit as good as the superb meal that we had on our first night. The breakfasts in the country house (which had the same view as the cottage) were also second to none and perhaps the best breakfasts that we had during our entire time in South Africa. Perhaps most impressive was that Brian remembered our orders from the first day we were there. (One of us had forgotten to ask for Bacon and shortly after ordering our breakfast, Liz came back to ask if we'd like it since we had ordered it the day before.) Brian and Liz apply this meticulous attention to detail to every aspect of their operation making for a truly outstanding experience. Summed up, we simply cannot wait to return to Fynbos Ridge for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review - we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge near the end of our six week journey to Africa. Our jaws dropped when we saw the beauty of the place, overlooking a lovely valley. Liz and Brian were the most attentive and gracious hosts. We stayed in the Aristea cottage which was beautiful beyond belief. It had a comfortable living room and an elegant bedroom. We found out later that Liz has been redecorating the buildings since they purchased it a few years ago and her taste is exquisite yet comfortable and inviting. Our delight, after eating out for so many weeks, was that the cottage had an outside wood fired grill. Brian told us where to purchase excellent meats in Plettenberg Bay and we enjoyed the quiet relaxing evenings with a bottle of wine savoring the view. Beautiful birds are everywhere on the property and one hears bird songs throughout the day. The staff were friendly, always greeting us and provided service equal to the wonderful quality of the facilities. We look forward to returning on our next visit. Get to know Liz and Brian, and you will return to Fynbos.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, and for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Following dental surgery in Plettenberg bay I needed accommodation for the night and with a stroke of luck found Fynbos Ridge.

As my mother and I drove onto the gravel road, you got the sense that you were entering a world of old world charm mixed with modern luxuries.

Brian, Liz and their daughter are incredible hosts, the serene surroundings and charming country house is like being transported to another world.

Even though I was swollen up like a chipmunk and couldnt eat much, the hosts and the beautiful setting cheered me up. Brian made me the perfect poached egg for breakfast and I often want to go back just for the coffee, croissant and that unbelievable poached egg.

If I ever need to hide away from the world this is where Ill run to....

Room Tip: Every room is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 3 nights whilst travelling from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were transported to another world. This place is the most tranquil place you could ever visit, all you can hear are birds singing. The Hosts Brian and Liz were perfect, nothing was ever any trouble for them. We had the most amazing short stay, we did not want to leave. We will definitely go back there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APRICOTStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 3 nights during our 3 week holiday in South Africa. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, and Brian and Liz are the most perfect hosts anyone could wish to meet.
Our room in the house was lovely- spacious, light and airy, with french windows leading out to a delightful verandah in the garden.
The food is delicious. Brian was the chef, aided by his daughter. Between them, they provided us with the best food we tasted during our whole 3 week stay in SA.
Liz, a talented artist, has developed the garden landscape to give it a truly African feel.The view from the house is fabulous.
I would heartily recommend a visit to Fynbos Ridge - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review, and for your very kind words! We appreciate it, and guests like you make all the hard work worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing