We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks to our excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Full marks to our excellent hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 3 nights during our 3 week holiday in South Africa. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, and Brian and Liz are the most perfect hosts anyone could wish to meet.
Our room in the house was lovely- spacious, light and airy, with french windows leading out to a delightful verandah in the garden.
The food is delicious. Brian was the chef, aided by his daughter. Between them, they provided us with the best food we tasted during our whole 3 week stay in SA.
Liz, a talented artist, has developed the garden landscape to give it a truly African feel.The view from the house is fabulous.
I would heartily recommend a visit to Fynbos Ridge - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review, and for your very kind words! We appreciate it, and guests like you make all the hard work worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Would definitely stay again. Loved the place, loved the hosts and the home cooked meal. Perhaps more of a great 4 star than luxury 5 but definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! We love our guests too! We love Fynbos Ridge and will continue with our program to renovate and upgrade. We took over a very neglected property three years ago, and already made big strides in improving. Hope that you come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages for two weeks with our three young children (5,4&1). Perfect location, in so far as it is close to Plett, however provides a really authentic African wilderness feel and view from the gorgeous Cape Dutch accomodation. Fynbos Ridge provides excellent value for money. Liz and Brian were excellent hosts and Brian's cooking is top notch. We would definately recommend Fynbos Ridge to any friends or family visiting the Garden Route.

Room Tip: All the cottages have a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed it here, and that the children had fun. Have a good 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and 2 teenagers stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 2 nights over Christmas. Liz & Brian, and their daughter, were perfect hosts for our short stay, putting on a fantastic buffet on Xmas eve, and providing wonderful accommodation in a truly relaxing location.

We all had a wonderful time at Fynbos, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for that extra touch of luxury coupled with attention to detail that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Rooms in house are wonderful and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review, we appreciate you taking time to rate us! It was a pleasure having you all here, and glad that the bungy was survived and enjoyed. Hope that you all have a good year, and that you visit Fynbos Ridge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We recently stayed in Clivia cottage for 4 nights with our 2 young children. As part of our wedding/honeymoon trip in SA we were only looking for 5 star accommodation and very few private establishments of this calibre allow children. What can I say, there was no issue with our children playing and being as loud as they cared to. Each cottage is far enough away not to impose on each other. The children were (6 & 2) were made to feel at home with Brian and Liz during breakfast for them to feel comfortable enough to deal with their own breakfasts alone and to raid the dvd cupboard and play with the dogs. The cottage itself was beautiful with a fireplace in the living room and main bedroom to light each night (all ready and just waiting for a match!) The efficiency of the daily cleaners was also highly commendable. The 1 thing I would have liked was some slippers as the floors were rather cold without shoes. The nicest thing was to sit near the brai whilst we cooked dinner, a bottle of wine to hand, a magnificent view, birdsong and the happy voices of my children.

Room Tip: Clivia was very close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

After making the mistake of flying into Capetown and the unsuccessful mad dash trip to the Lodge to get in before dark we pulled into the lodge tired, cold and hungry. Our hosts met us and led us to our cottage Clivia. The mattresses were lovely and comfortable so we settled in for the night quickly. The next morning when we finally saw the view, we knew we made the right choice to keep going and not stop somewhere closer along the route. Not only is the place gorgeous but the service is wonderful. The breakfast and dinner were delicious and we even got breakfast packed for our last morning for the long ride back. Brian is an amazing chef and that's an understatement. My suggestion is to fly into George airport or Port Elizabeth and drive to the lodge and see the sights close by in Plett and Knysna. Or fly into Cape Town, stay a night or two in Hemanus or one of the other towns along the way and take a leisurely drive down to Fynbos Ridge, then fly out of George or Port Elizabeth. The critical part is to make space for Fynbos Ridge.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

What a wonderful place! Stunning bedrooms in a beautiful, tranquil setting. The dinner we had was 5 star and extremely delicious! The panacotta is to die for!!! Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraLeighLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
4.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing