We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Fynbos Ridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Christmas at Fynbos Ridge”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and 2 teenagers stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 2 nights over Christmas. Liz & Brian, and their daughter, were perfect hosts for our short stay, putting on a fantastic buffet on Xmas eve, and providing wonderful accommodation in a truly relaxing location.

We all had a wonderful time at Fynbos, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for that extra touch of luxury coupled with attention to detail that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Rooms in house are wonderful and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review, we appreciate you taking time to rate us! It was a pleasure having you all here, and glad that the bungy was survived and enjoyed. Hope that you all have a good year, and that you visit Fynbos Ridge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We recently stayed in Clivia cottage for 4 nights with our 2 young children. As part of our wedding/honeymoon trip in SA we were only looking for 5 star accommodation and very few private establishments of this calibre allow children. What can I say, there was no issue with our children playing and being as loud as they cared to. Each cottage is far enough away not to impose on each other. The children were (6 & 2) were made to feel at home with Brian and Liz during breakfast for them to feel comfortable enough to deal with their own breakfasts alone and to raid the dvd cupboard and play with the dogs. The cottage itself was beautiful with a fireplace in the living room and main bedroom to light each night (all ready and just waiting for a match!) The efficiency of the daily cleaners was also highly commendable. The 1 thing I would have liked was some slippers as the floors were rather cold without shoes. The nicest thing was to sit near the brai whilst we cooked dinner, a bottle of wine to hand, a magnificent view, birdsong and the happy voices of my children.

Room Tip: Clivia was very close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After making the mistake of flying into Capetown and the unsuccessful mad dash trip to the Lodge to get in before dark we pulled into the lodge tired, cold and hungry. Our hosts met us and led us to our cottage Clivia. The mattresses were lovely and comfortable so we settled in for the night quickly. The next morning when we finally saw the view, we knew we made the right choice to keep going and not stop somewhere closer along the route. Not only is the place gorgeous but the service is wonderful. The breakfast and dinner were delicious and we even got breakfast packed for our last morning for the long ride back. Brian is an amazing chef and that's an understatement. My suggestion is to fly into George airport or Port Elizabeth and drive to the lodge and see the sights close by in Plett and Knysna. Or fly into Cape Town, stay a night or two in Hemanus or one of the other towns along the way and take a leisurely drive down to Fynbos Ridge, then fly out of George or Port Elizabeth. The critical part is to make space for Fynbos Ridge.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

What a wonderful place! Stunning bedrooms in a beautiful, tranquil setting. The dinner we had was 5 star and extremely delicious! The panacotta is to die for!!! Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraLeighLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you have stayed at Fynbos Ridge then you will know that there really is nothing to moan about. I unfortunately only got to stay one night, this was the first night of my week in Plett and nothing even came close this wonderful establishment.

Arriving at Fynbos Ridge I did not know what to expect, I was absolutely blown away by the hosts and the beautiful surroundings. The rooms are beyond amazing, top class! Luckily the weather was nice so we go to spend some time by the pool looking over the valley, was just amazing.

That evening we had dinner that Brian prepared which was really really amazing, I would recommend Fynbos Ridge to anyone if you are looking for peace, romance and good company.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This place, situated off the N2, is an incredible find. The cottages are very well equipped with everything you could ask for right down to the apron for cooking (if you so choose). However, you must let Brian cook for you; he is an amazingly talented chef! From your veranda you have stunning views of the mountains, amazing gardens and 86 species of birds. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating; offering great advice on things to do in the area and around. The breakfast is the best ever. Would definitely stay again if have the chance and enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We chose Fynbos Ridge based on a recommendation from our travel agent for a 2 night stay while travelling along the Garden Route and it truly exceeded all expectations we could have had.

My wife and I, as well as our 2 children (age 9 and 5) arrived around 9:30pm our first night after a long drive from Cape Town. Brian, who is the owner along with wife Liz, met us after we made our way back the long winding drive and showed us quickly to our cottage. Our first impression was good. It really seemed spacious inside and on the surface everything looked to be in place. Brian assisted us personally with our bags and since it was late very curtiously excused himself just after he confirmed what time we would prefer to have breakfast. We chose 9am and he wished us a good night. Before retiring to bed (which were very comfortable) we noticed freshly baked cookies (one bite gave it away) had been left for us in the cooking jar on the counter. We thought this was an extremely nice touch.

In the morning was when the true excellence of Fynbos Ridge started to sink in. We travel quite often all over the world and realize even some 5 star properties will have little things you need to just accept. Here we did not find any of those.

As we woke up we were able to appreciate the true beauty of the property and the ideal setting - quaint looking on the outside, but well furnished and just modern enough on the inside. The grounds are truly beautiful with all the plants, trees, and shrubbery. The bathrooms (both) had heated towel racks and a deep sided tub in the master bedroom and a great rainfall / body shower in the bathroom off of the 2nd bedroom. Great water pressure and HOT water. The whole overall look and feel of the cottages right down to the paint and furniture choices just worked well together -- not all new, but all in perfect order and pleasing for the setting -- just what you would want in this kind of setting.

At 9am we headed to the main house for breakfast. The setting again was beautiful on the back side of the main house with the french doors open and cool moring breeze coming in. Brian is not only the owner, but also an Excellent chef as we were to find out. Breakfast again impressed us beyond expectation from the taste of the coffee, to the truly professional presentation and taste of the eggs, bacon, sausage that Brian prepared while we started with freshly prepared fruit and danish / muffins. As we ate breakfast we noticed again how nicely decorated the home was and the paintings on the wall. We asked later about both and found all the decorating had been done by the owners themselves and the paintings all done by Brian's wife Liz, who is also an artist.

As breakfast finished and the calm atmosphere was beginning to sink in we met Liz for the first time. Liz is Brian's wife and has about the most easygoing and enjoyable demeanor you could ever wish to meet. It is a pleasure to talk to her and she was more than happy to help us plan out our day and give us some local advise on driving directions and other stuff to follow up on our plans. Every recommendation she and/or Brian provided we found later proved to be perfect.

In the evening after returning from another day of sightseeing we came back to the cottage and noticed how beautiful the sky was, full of stars. It was great to just sit on the back porch and look up at the stars, but it was just a little on the cold side. Well, right there was a fireplace already stacked with wood. Upon further inspection I find that their is also some starter placed below the wood and a lighter right there as well. I have never started a fire so easily in my life -- because Brian and Liz has already thought of every detail. Just as the fire got going and we were enjoying the stars, my daughter asks if we could have some fresh cookies. As I am about to tell her sorry we don't have any cookies, my son says, Yes we do -- there are freshly made cookies. Again - another little thing that made the stay just feel right. There was also wine in the refrigerator if you wanted (just a note to pay on the honor system if you wanted to enjoy). After a bit of time enjoying the stars the kids wanted to go for a late-night swim even though the air was so cool. As I tried to give the excuse it was too dark to walk to the pool, my son also notifies me Brian and Liz have left a special flashlight by the door just in case any late night trips to the pool are required. So with no excuses allowed, we ventured down to the pool while my wife enjoyed a soak in the tub. The kids enjoyed the pool (our kids were curtiously quiet even though it was just 9pm, but the pool is set off from the cottages such that the atmosphere was not spoiled for anyone) and I just relaxed on the chair and continued to enjoy the stars.

After the swim we all settled in for our second and final night at Fynbos Ridge and looked forward to breakfast again in the morning. Again, at 9am Brian did not disappoint and the breakfast was outstanding once again. Since we had paid in advance, the check out process was not much more than just saying good-bye to Brian and Liz and grabbing our bags.

What we thought would just be a place to sleep for 2 nights during our 2.5 week trip all through South Africa, actually became a place we will look back on fondly as we remeber our trip as a destination all itself. I think that is about the highest recommendation I can give.

Without question I would highly recommend Fynbos Ridge to anyone considering a place to stay in the Plettenburg area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlang1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing