We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast party!”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #11 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Wonderful place. Dee and Robin are so welcoming, Dee making sure all guests get to know each other, such that breakfast each morning is more like a party! Lovely rooms, ours was on the small side, but great value, and we could walk to the beach. Just like an English country cottage, but in a perfect climate. Thank you Dee

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael-Webber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

Good location with lots of local ameneties, restaurants,bars, shops
Rooms very comfortable with views over the garden
Very friendly and helpful staff, local knowledge led us to visit places we would have missed. Service at all times wa excellent and they bent over backwards to accommodate us at an hours notice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We arrived at cornerway following a long drive to a very warm and friendly welcome from Robin. We had telephoned to say we had taken the wrong turning and he stood on the street waiting for us!
The rooms were beautiful and it felt like staying at a friends rather than a bed and breakfast. We were made to feel very relaxed and welcome to use all the space as we wanted. The gardens around the house were beautifully kept and tranquil.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious.
The hosts made sure you knew the local area well and they were really interested in where you were going and also who you were as a person.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliegirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Robin and Dee were like going to stay with family, they were so hospitable and we felt totally at home. They have 3 dogs who were absolutely amazing. We had a drink with them on our first night and they suggested and booked restaurants for us which were fantastic. The rooms were charming and very cosy and the house has a beautifull garden. We stayed for 2 nights and then booked in for 1 more as we loved it so much.
The breakfast was the best we had in south africa.
Cannot recomend highly enough, we will definately stay again if we return to Plett.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossiewilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Cornerway house is an unexpected gem; Robin and Dee are amongst those rare people who are like meeting old friends; they are hospitable, knowlegeable, to hand, and yet unobtrusive. We cannot recommend Cornerway House highly enough, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boeingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Hosts: Robin, Dee and their staff, in addition to being delightful people, know the area well and seem to have suggestions to suit every need. Usefully, they are well connected; it was surprising how often a table in an apparently fully booked resturant became available after they made a call.
Accommodation: We stayed in a room adjacent to the main house with en-suite facilities and a small courtyard, it was thoughtfully equipped, nicely decorated and well serviced - just what we needed.
Garden: A lovely area which is clearly the result of a lot of hard work with lots of benches where you can sit and read in the sun with a glass of wine. The small pool was bracing and fun in the hot weather.
Location: Ideal; beach 7 mins walk, restaurants 5 mins by car, national park 10 mins drive, centre of town 8 mins drive.
Summary: A great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

we stayed for days just recently and it is beautiful We would go back there without a doubt next time we are in Plett

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyroneBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
314 reviews
3.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
313 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $87 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing