We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #11 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the Cornerway House for 2 nights although origin planned to spend only one night. The decoration of the place is beautiful!! Starting from the gardens and public areas and ending in the room with all great little decoration touchs. I wish our home will look like the Cornerway House.
The hospitality by Kathy and Robin was fantastic and they were really pleasant and helpful:-)
Finally we had the best breakfasts in our SA trip, sitting infront of the pool.
I would definitely recommend this place and wish wr could return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always so useful to have peoples opinions.

Thnaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Cornerway House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Cornerway House for three nights. We were very pleased with the friendly welcome, the house and the breakfasts but it was the hosts who we really cannot thank enough for all they did for us. They were exceedingly helpful, especially when one of us needed urgent medical attention during the night. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we could help

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I choose this place based on the recommendation in tripadvisor and i am happy i did so. The host and his guesthouse manager did everything they could to help us arrange our trip related staff during the three days we stayed there. They made all our bookings, they made sure we know how to get from one place to another, as we were with a rented car and weren't familiar with the roads around. They were so nice and helpful, really good people. The room was big and spacious, and was perfectly cleaned every day, we received everything we asked for. There was heating system for the ones who suffer from cold, there is car parking spot, there is a nice garden where you can sit and read books, and there is a rich breakfast served every morning. I enjoyed a lot my stay in Cornerway, but would recommend it more for those travelling with car, as it is a bit far from the Central beach area...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

I know that when I am travelling a friendly place to rest my head always adds to ones holiday. I am pleased you found that with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you for a very welcoming stay over a weekend at the beginning of September. All very comfortable and an amazing cooked breakfast. So good that we are planning to return as a family over the October half term and Robin has been very helpful with ideas as to what to do locally. So really looking forward to that, particularly as there seems so much to do locally.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

If we can be of help we always will be and I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were a little unlucky, our bags didn't make all the way to Port Elizabeth and en route to Plettenberg Bay we had some complications with a bushfire. So we arrived late at the Cornerway House in Plettenberg Bay. No problem at all, we were greeted and quickly helped with a table reservation at a near by restaurant, called the fat fish which was delicious. Meanwhile the owner took care of being present when our bags would be delievered and had them brought up to our room. All together very nice and generous hospitallity. Thanks very much.

Room Tip: If your tavel in September be sure to bring a warm pijama, thus inside it is quite fresh and the loc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Nothing is worse than arriving before ones luggage. I am so pleased we could help and also point you in the right direction for a good Plett restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at this guest house, when we were travelling around South Africa during May this year. The breakfasts were excellent, the accomodation was very good and the hosts very helpful. My first visit to South Africa and just a short stop over in Plettenburg, but very memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalmaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

I think I know who wrote this review? However thank you so much. Dee and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - Perhaps you might be back again??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my daughter in August. Robyn and Dee are great hosts and Kathy their manager so very kind and helpful. The room was stylish and the lovely comfy beds with crisp white linen made for a great nights sleep. We loved the filter coffee and biscotti as well as eating breakfast in the open plan kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I am so pleased that you both were so relaxed and comfortable here. I hope we see you again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
3.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $101 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing