We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like Mum and Dad's house - relaxing, cosy and homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #17 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just like Mum and Dad's house - relaxing, cosy and homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Thanda Vista is located in the quiet streets of Plettenberg Bay with a lovely view over the beach. JP and Petro are lovely and very interested in your plans. Breakfast includes everything and is delicious. All the rooms are decorated with a different theme - they are a little on the small side but clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is however a large communal lounge area with free internet and books. Could easily stay 2 nights or more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
114
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed at Thanda Vista unfortunately only for one night but next time we're in Plett Bay it will most definitely be for longer. JP could not have made us fell more welcome and the breakfast cooked by Petro was second to none! The views from the breakfast room and the rooms are quite breath-taking and it was a privelege to have been able to stay at this most welcoming establishment. Thanks to you both JP and Petro - the information you provided us with enabled us to visit places en route to Port Elizabeth that we would not otherwise have visited and we were so glad we did. We loved this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satisfiedguest31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

JP and Petro are very helpful hosts , providing a pc with internet access for the guests and things like beach towels and umbrellas if you want to walk to the nearby beach.

The rooms were very well appointed and very comfortable with lots of attention to detail. The breakfasts are good and the views from the brakfast lounge are fantastic

We spent two nights there and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_From_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

JP (the owner) is extremely helpful with everything, from booking restaurants to offering suggestions of where to stay when he was full! Lovely room which was very clean with an amazing view and one of the best places we stayed in during our time on the garden route. Would definitely stay there again, thanks JP.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

I spent two nights at this B and B which is situated about 150 yards from one of the beaches at Plettenberg Bay. The views from the upstairs room where breakfast was served were just wonderful. And an excellent breakfast it was too. JP and Petro were great hosts and couldn't have been more helpful. In particular they went out of their way to help me resolve a little local problem I had in Plett. Any visit to Plett is always a delight and my stay at Thanda Vista B&B certainly added to this

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at Thanda Vista and I would recommend to anyone looking for a great Bed & Breakfast establishment in Plettenburg Bay.

Great location,3 minute walk to a lovely beach, 5 minutes from great restaurants and bars. Also close to all the local tourist attractions and golf courses virtually on your door step.

JP and Petro are fantastic hosts and the breakfast is worth the trip alone.

Definitely a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haypet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

You can come and go as you like,
you can stay and relax or go touring the area which has plenty of things to do

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanghay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#27 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Property: Thanda Vista
Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing