We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service and hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #17 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Perfect service and hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We thank J.P. and his wife for the fantastice service, the great breakfast and all
valuable recommendations.
Everything is great at Thanda Vista. The only but very little bad aspect are the relatively small rooms. But thats really negligible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
113
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

There was a very warm welcome from the hosts. Room was very comfortable with good amenities. There was also an enjoyable breakfast. The host was very informative regarding places to visit around the area and gave a recommendation for an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

JP was the perfect host offering real attention to detail. The view from his rooftop terrace was most relaxing. Sumptuous breakfast cooked to order. Recommended the Lemon Grass restaurant for dinner, which proved to be a good choice.
Bedrooms were a bit on the small side, particularly if travelling with two large suitcases.
Ample parking. Ignore swimming pool rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the best guest houses withinn 100 from beach and walking distance to shopping center.The Hosteses where very nice and gave lots of tips.we add aditional night there. good restarant recomended Gillis


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. There is so much more to do in the area than we actually had time for. JP the owner of Thanda Vista was an absolute gentlemen, upon arrival he gave us a personal welcome and took the time to give us an introduction to the area and with things to do in and around the bay. The view from our room and the breakfast area was superb, especially from the rooftop terrace. We would definitely recommend to others to stay and spend a few days here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a enjoyable stay at the establishment. Friendly service; clean and comfortable room; excellent breakfast. The view from the terrace is beautiful.
Close to the beach and centre of town. Quiet suburb

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks Gerhard for staying at Thanda Vista and for your review. It is always good to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although the room was on the small size, it was outfitted with everything we could need and we had a great nights sleep. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious. We were close to amenities and had a lovely view of the bay from our room. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so we weren't able to enjoy the balcony, but it was a nice feature to have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GilaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you GilaGirl for the review and it was only our pleasure to have you staying at Thanda Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#28 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Property: Thanda Vista
Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing