We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happily only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whalesong Hotel & Hydro
Ranked #64 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The name does not really live up to the expectation. On arrival our luggage was collected from the car and taken to our room. Reception staff were polite. Our room was a disappointment. However there was a view of the ocean in the distance from the balcony. Although there was a kettle in the room I could not find anyway to plug it in. We were there in September 2012 and the room felt cold, although the heater was on. If we had been booked for more than one night, I don't think we would have returned. On leaving the hotel in the evening before going out for dinner, I asked for an extra heater. They said they did not have one but would I like the electric blanket put on. I said they did not need to bother. When we returned later, they had been in the room and put on electric blankets and the bed did feel lovely and warm. This was appreciated. Breakfast was acceptable.
Overall the hotel needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tutles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you ignore the signs for the Shell garage there are great views over Plettenberg Bay. Other reviewers have mentioned the traffic noise which diminishes the closer your room is to the reception area (choose low numbers). The rooms are in need of decoration. Breakfast food was acceptable if you don't mind sharing with the cat. There is no back up generator so during our stay there was a power cut and we were provided with lamps to find our way from the restaurant back to the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO General Manager at Whalesong Hotel & Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your invaluable input will assist us to ensure that we offer the Legendary experience we strive to create for all guests. Please be assured that the issue of the cat has been addressed with the GM and onsite team. We do hope the issued raised does not deter you from visiting us at Whalesong Hotel & Hydro in the future and allowing us the opportunity to create a truly memorable stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Whalesong Hotel was not what I expected from a four star hotel.
1. Disliked — Location and steepness of access, especially with luggage
When we arrived we had to carry our own luggage
2. The wood is in need of paint. It look terrible
3. The receptionist showed us our room and told us that the hotel is fully booked and suggested that we go later for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was not particularly good, it was terrible with very limited choice!! When we arrived for breakfast we found empty bowls and a fly problem all over the show. It was awful and I did not even want to eat breakfast - and that for a four star hotel!!! We left without eating breakfast
4. Another negative thing was the wooden toilet seat that was badly worn and chipped!
5. It is very noisy, we could hear lorries driving up the hill to the N2 all night. Our view was spoilt by a huge Shell Petrol sign directly in front of the hotel. Convenient for travelling but not really a good place to stay if you want to be on the beach, as it is a couple of miles from the bay.

Needless to say we will never be back or recommend the hotel!!! If it was not that we had paid in advance, I would never stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst touring the Garden route. Staff were OK, but it is close to the N2 and very close to a petrol station. We did not suffer from any road noise, but we were in rooms furthest from the road, if you get one of the room closer to the road and are a light sleeper, then it may be noisy. The rooms were decorated with an Africa theme and are quite large with a good size en-suite. Breakfast was poor with very limited choice, it may be better in teh height of season. Pool very small and the water freezing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, it is very noisy, we could hear lorries driving up the hill to the N2 all night. Our view was spoilt by a huge Shell Petrol sign directly in front of the hotel. Convenient for travelling but not really a good place to stay if you want to be on the beach, as it is a couple of miles from the bay. The rooms were very nice and the bathroom was quite different. Unfortunately not many rooms were occupied when we were there. Breakfast was not particularly good although the staff were very happy to make you anything you wanted. We felt the swimming pool was not something we would want to swim in and was in a bad state of repair. During our stay most of the hotel was being updated so there were always work men around. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auditt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I stayed over for 1 night in Feb. The staff were extremely rude & had such an attitude. We asked to speak to the manager , but it had apparently recently been taken over by new owners, who werent there and had left the staff on their own. Eventually the "assistant manager" arrived , and was just as unfriendly. We asked to speak to the owners, but she said that she was in charge and what she says goes. The owners trust her and will not take a guests word over her own!!! Needless to say we will never be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The reviews I had read before I went did not inspire belief that this would be one of the better hotels on the trip and we were pleasantly surprised. It was incredibly quiet, only one other couple staying there and we wondered if there was a snag but there wasn't one. The lodge room was fine and did have a good view over the bay. Trafic noise that others refer to was audible, lorries pulling up the hill from the roundabout that leads into Plettenberg Bay but did not seriously disturb me despite living in a very quiet area at home. Bathroom was modern and more than adeuate with thatched roof which was quite unique. We did not have an evening meal there but wished we did as I understand it is good and certainly the breakfast was fine. In summer there is a verandah area to the restaurant but as it was August we eat inside as slightly cool first thing in the morning.
There is a resident cat who is roams the restuarant.

Overall perfectly satisfactory palce to stay but it is a drive to the beach. It would not be very suitable for elderly couples as it is on a steep slope.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enggeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
119 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Hotel & Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Hotel & Hydro

Address: Marine Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $68 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Hotel & Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalesong Hotel & Hydro is situated in a lush, landscaped garden in Plettenberg Bay, the jewel of South Africa's Garden Route, renowned for its unique scenery and moderate climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whalesong Hotel & Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Hotel And Hydro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing