We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lily Pond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a few days in Nature's Valley. A great place to relax in beautiful grounds with staff that can't do enough for you. Maria was a real gem, always on hand for advice and a great front of house.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very comfortable, luxurious, a shame a lot of trees are in the way of the views of the li...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Sandra, Thank you for your very complimentary comments . We are always trying to improve our guests holiday and experience , and your kind words complimenting Lily Pond Country Lodge and the staff , makes the effort really worthwhile.
Regarding the trees , you are correct , they have being planted for natural privacy.
We look forward to welcoming You or your friends back to Lily Pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Lily Pond Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 356 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great experience staying at Lily Pond. Super-friendly and helpful staff. Well-appointed accommodation located close to Plettenberg Bay and Natures Valley. Also visit Naturesway farm stall next door for farm-fresh milk and other dairy products.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to review Lilypond Country Lodge.
We trust you are well rested and ready to tackle the challenges of 2013.
Please let us know when You or Your friends are in the Garden Route , so we can discuss one of our unique Activity Packages?
All the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent three nights recently at Lily Pond Country Lodge in Nature's Valley and had a really wonderful stay. Very comfortable room (semi-detached chalet really) with a beautiful view over the pond. Also occasionally baboons in the garden!
Wonderful food, great atmosphere and super good and friendly service from Carol, Faith and Joseph. Diner in the evenings near the open fire are a great way to spend your evenings! Nature's Valley is lovely and the lodge is near to Plettenberg so ideal for spending some quiet time during your Garden Route travels.
Lovely but cold swimmingpool (but I think that was due to the relatively cold weather at the time; in the height of summer the water will be lovely). All in all a wonderful place to relax and certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrolijkereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your time and trouble responding to Tripadvisor.
We enjoyed having you stay and hopefully the swimming pool and weather will be warmer on your next visit. We are into summer now with 28 degrees. Not to bad considering the 1st snow in Europe.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Carol, Joseph & Faith.
Looking forward to meeting and spoiling you on your next visit to Lily Pond.
Blessed Greetings to You & Your family for the Christmas and NewYear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Absolute sheer luxury! We stayed here after an enjoyable but hectic safari. Beautiful room overlooking the stunning lily pond.Excellent food and service.We had our table covered in rose petals with a glass of pink champagne as it was our 40 th wedding anniversary.Lovely log fires make this a relaxing place to stay.Great location for many places including Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and Natures Valley.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had a stunning view of the lily pond.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for staying at Lily Pond and your kind compliments. We enjoyed meeting you and spoiling you. We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday / celebration.
We are truly blessed to have Natures Valley Blue Flag Beach and the natural forests , on our doorstep, and appreciate guests who also enjoy the experience.
Looking forward to seeing you or your friends in the future.
Seasons Greetings to You and Your Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here on our drive down the Garden Route on the recommendation of family who had visited a few years ago. The room was well furnished and decorated and we had a small terrace overlooking the pond. We only stayed one night but found it very relaxing after what had been a hectic start to our holiday.
The only issue we had was finding a piece of plastic in the starter during the evening meal. The rest of the food was superb. Breakfast in the sunshine was a marvellous way to start the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for staying at Lily Pond Country Lodge.
We appreciate your comments as we are always striving to improve our guests experience at Lily Pond as well as on their South African Holiday .
We were not aware of your starter problem at dinner, but please accept our apologies.
Hopefully on your next trip to South Africa ,you will spend more time in the Garden Route and at Lily Pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to Lily Pond in September 2008 (low season). This boutique hotel offers a lot of atmosphere, personal attention, minimalistic design rooms which all are well situated around the pond. We got the room (nr 9) with the best view of the pond which was great! The garden and the pond are very nicely landscaped with more than enough privacy for each suite. Breakfast was good. We only had dinner a few times, but were also very tastful. We stayed here a couple of days as we were following the Garden route. Perfect starting point for several outdoor activities, like whale watching, visit to Knysna, but also for a relaxing day at the pool. Check also the beautiful beach just around the corner. Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Choose suite number 9, this suite has the best view of the pond.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at Lilypond with high expectations, and they were met! The warm welcome of Josef was perfect and we felt right at home. We loved the garden room with ensuite bathroom overlooking the pond. The rooms are comfortable and show a modern design.

We also can recommend the dinner at cosy dining room (albeit that you need to be close to the fireplace during wintertimes). You can find fireplaces in all public rooms, giving you a feeling of home away from home.

The hosts Margert and Niels are friendly and can provide you with good advise on things to do in the surroundings. And there is a lot to do being close to Tsitsikamma and Plettenbergbay. So stay more than one night!

Ps be sure to eat at Enrico's nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $109 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the best part of the Garden Route with large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is adjacent Tsitsikamma National Park and a 7 minute drive from Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. All 10 suites with air condition, shower and bath, TV and private patio overlooking the lily ponds. Restaurant with good fresh food sets the scene. Pool with wooden decking. Jacuzzi along one of the ponds. English, Dutch & German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing