We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in Lily Pond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to Lily Pond in September 2008 (low season). This boutique hotel offers a lot of atmosphere, personal attention, minimalistic design rooms which all are well situated around the pond. We got the room (nr 9) with the best view of the pond which was great! The garden and the pond are very nicely landscaped with more than enough privacy for each suite. Breakfast was good. We only had dinner a few times, but were also very tastful. We stayed here a couple of days as we were following the Garden route. Perfect starting point for several outdoor activities, like whale watching, visit to Knysna, but also for a relaxing day at the pool. Check also the beautiful beach just around the corner. Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Choose suite number 9, this suite has the best view of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at Lilypond with high expectations, and they were met! The warm welcome of Josef was perfect and we felt right at home. We loved the garden room with ensuite bathroom overlooking the pond. The rooms are comfortable and show a modern design.

We also can recommend the dinner at cosy dining room (albeit that you need to be close to the fireplace during wintertimes). You can find fireplaces in all public rooms, giving you a feeling of home away from home.

The hosts Margert and Niels are friendly and can provide you with good advise on things to do in the surroundings. And there is a lot to do being close to Tsitsikamma and Plettenbergbay. So stay more than one night!

Ps be sure to eat at Enrico's nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Lily Pond lodge is understated elegance and superbly comfortable. It shines out as something different in South Africa. The owners and some of the staff remembered us from our first visit three years before. The service is extremely friendly. Both as a good base for exploring the eastern end of the Garden Route and a place to relax it couldn't be bettered. And the food is great too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasVellano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I came to Lily Pond and reading the address "Nature's Valley". I was surprised. The guesthouse is in the middle of the lush forests of the Plettenberg Bay area at a nice lily pond. It has a great pool area overlooking the pond, comfortable rooms, spacious suites and excellent food. But the real surprise for me was how close the beach is and how beautiful. I didn't expect that it would be just 10 minutes away from the tranquil forest surrounded guesthouse and that it would be so impressively beautiful.

Room Tip: For lots of space you should choose the garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohoYaChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent three splendid days in beautiful Lilipond and were very sad to leave. The rooms are fantastic (we had a garden suite) and the whole place is gorgeously arranged around the lilipond. We profited from the lovely swimming pool, great dinners, and very friendly hosts and staff. Couldn't have been better. Nature's Valley and Storms River Mouth are not far away - and for the rest of the time we were simply happy to stay on the premises. Gundi and Kurt

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gundi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The staff are helpful and the lily pond is very pretty.
However:
-the rooms are very basic - no air con (2 very noisy fans which were to loud to sleep with on), bathrooms that look like something you would find in an institution
-the three course dinner is served at 7.15 - and the whole reception/restaurant area is shut up as soon as possible after dinner - so expect to be asleep by 9.30! The food was fine but salty - and at 220 Rand per person worked out more expensive than the great restaurant at Emily moon up the road (apparently the best restaurant in the area)
-reception is not manned after 5 o'clock - there is just a number to call for 'emergencies' - so booking things on the day of your arrival is difficult

Overall, we felt that lily pond represented bad value for money.
There's not much choice in natures valley - but I think had we realised how close natures valley was to plettenberg bay or knysna I think we'd have opted to stay there instead.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank JessicaF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were superbly looked after. Our room , just the basic en-suite, was excellent with a lovely view of the lily pond as we lay in bed. The evening meals were exceptional and very good value..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
12.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
780 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
366 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $118 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the best part of the Garden Route with large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is adjacent Tsitsikamma National Park and a 7 minute drive from Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. All 10 suites with air condition, shower and bath, TV and private patio overlooking the lily ponds. Restaurant with good fresh food sets the scene. Pool with wooden decking. Jacuzzi along one of the ponds. English, Dutch & German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing