We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice staff”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were there for 2 nights and it was delightful. Very friendy staff, more like a family style. The dinner was great, a little bit overpriced for the buffet (compared to other locations).
The rooms are big and have a wonderful view to the small lake.
The Jacuzzi is free of charge and based on a small island in the lake.
Swimmingpool ist good for relaxing with a perfect view.
WLAN is free of charge. We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    53
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
260
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Lily pond lodge is well worth a visit. One can spend days here without leaving to sightsee! The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff caters for your every need. The dining deserves special mention! Evening dinners is a memorable affair!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMSe7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were driving the garden route in October and didn't want to book anything ahead of time. We found the Lily Pond in a guide book and rang them at 5pm. They were able to find us a room that evening and were very accommodating.

The rooms are to a good specification and the breakfast was lovely.

Our only observation is that it seemed to be catering the for the more seasoned traveler and we were definitely the youngest people there (mid 30s). However, that could be just the time of year that we went (mid Oct).

The other thing to note is that being next to a lily pond means lots of frogs. It didn't bother us, but you can hear them all night....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gh0stly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzing
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Lily Pond Country Lodge is situated very lovely in 12 hectares of forest and surrounded by lily ponds which you can see from every room. The architecture is modern, but very warmly decorated with pieces of African Art and in warm colours. We had a very spacious en-suite bedroom with our own little terrace overlooking the lily ponds. Service is very good and the food is incredibly good!! We had a 4-course-dinner and we loved everything!! The fillet was very tender and tasty and to die for. Breakfast was also fantastic. Lily Pond is run by a Dutch couple, Margret and Niels, who took over Lily Pond in 2002. Margret is a fantastic cook and we got very good advice where to go around "The Crags". We do strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We recieved a very warm welcome here from both the owner and the dog. The staff were wonderful, the breakfast was great and the evening dinner was really, really good. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful place, apart from the birds and frogs being quite noisy, but that's nature for you. There are lots of outdoor things to do in the area and the staff are very helpful with suggestions.
I'd also recommend booking a massage / treatment, they add to the relaxing experience.
The only thing wrong here was that we had chosen a bad week weather wise and it was a little disappointing not to be able to be out and about as much as we would have liked. One small niggle was that our room became a little damp after a week's worth of rain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were for a couple of days at lily pond. The big villa's are very nice, roomy and with enough privacy. The owners are very friendly, offer good service and the food is of high standard. Only downside is the lack of air conditioning which to me is a basic requirement. I can recommend lily pond for a romantic stay during your visit at Plettenburg.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alotofdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Not sure what part of Lily Pond I liked the best as it was all superb, but the lake setting and the beautiful swimming pool is up ther. Then again, the restaurant was superb. The room was also lovely and we have a veranda with relaxing chairs right next to the lake. This place is made for relaxation - heaven!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliePoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
15.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Property: Lily Pond Country Lodge
Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the best part of the Garden Route with large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is adjacent Tsitsikamma National Park and a 7 minute drive from Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. All 10 suites with air condition, shower and bath, TV and private patio overlooking the lily ponds. Restaurant with good fresh food sets the scene. Pool with wooden decking. Jacuzzi along one of the ponds. English, Dutch & German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing