We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got burgled here - avoid.”
Review of Stone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Cottage
Ranked #35 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We got burgled here - avoid.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

overall we really loved the stone cottage on our trip. in fact it was our favourite of the garden route! (the view, the fireplace, the whirlpool). what a gem, we thought.
when we woke up one morning though we found out that someone broke into our room whilst we were sleeping in the bedroom next door with our baby! we didn't hear a thing and it was a very damaging experience psychologically. overall our camera, our wallet, clothes, two iphones and an ipad got stolen! we got promised from stone cottage that their insurance will cover for it, but after a couple of emails i just never got a reply from them ever again!
the story in the comments above that people never got their deposit back and stone cottage just ignored their phone calls sadly fits along these lines!!

the incident cost us a huge amount of money a lot of wasted time trying to cover it with insurance somehow (which never happened, even though there was a police report there was not a sign that someone broke in - only an open terrace window and a foot print on a window sill. inside job?) not to mention an emotional dent in an otherwise perfect garden route trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25jugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieLeRoux, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
I was shocked and saddened to hear about your experience. The previous manager who was my tenant for 2 years has many costly mistakes which i intend to learn from. I am happy to be back in my own home after a 2 year traveling sabbatical and am managing it myself once again. I realize i have hard work ahead of me to regain the trust of my guests. At the moment we are very busy cleaning & renovating and are re-opening as a backpackers & lodge. I warmly invite fellow travelers to come and experience the magic of our 100 year old family home with us once again.
Warm Welcomes & Kind Regards
annie le roux
(owner of Stone Cottage since i inherited it from my grandparents)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in April 2011 with our 2 daughters aged 8 and 10 in Boettie Pierre which is the 1st floor rooms in the cottage overlooking the bay. I have to say that the website does not do this place justice. The views we had form the rooms were amazing- right out over the bay and we watched dolphins in the bay. I can only imagine what its like during whale season! Take binoculars to get the most out of it. The rooms were spotless and really beautifully presented. Breakfast also great. Location 3 min walk form the beach were we also enjoyed a lovely meal at Moby Dick's.
100% recommended!

Room Tip: Boettie Pierre is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty_Chain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2011

By pure luck we stumbled upon Stone Cottage and immediately we were hooked by it's location (the view is truly superb) and the friendlyness of the staff. Rooms are perfect and clean. Has all the necesities in place and really is just a stone throw away from Plett Center where you can get your shopping or take out (or just go to a restaurant).

Perfect starting point for scuba diving and or other ocean adventures.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanBrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My son and his friends stayed here in Dec 2010. Accomodation is very very nice and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay , but unfortunately the whole experience was soured by the proprietor failing to repay the substantial breakage deposits despite numerous promises by him to do so , and despite us having signed a formal contract setting out the terms of the stay , which he has contravened in any number of ways. He now simply just refuses to take our phone calls or respond to e-mails

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobCCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stone Cottage is situated just a stone throw from the Beacon Island Beach and is incredibly well appointed. The hostess Addi was simply amazing and made one feel at home imediately. The supper that I enjoyed there was unbelievable with crumbed mushrooms, salads and fresh hake. The room - I stayed in Hilda suite - was amazing, different and comfortable - just three steps away from the jacuzzi.
I was fortunate to visit the place on a prior occasion when they had some live music with some of the guests. Nobody wanted to go and sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Hey fellow Garden Route Travellers. just want to share this old world, but funky eclectic magical gem i found with you...
It is beautiful, set in a lovely garden.. and has a jacuzzi on a deck with spectacular views.
Romance !!!
It is not for the fussy.. but for the simple deep spirited traveller.
an absolute find.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the cars on the road
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tribalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon along the Garden Route.

We stayed in Boetie Pierre which was separate from the main guesthouse and provided our own area (bedroom, shower-room, kitchen, dining area, lounge and balcony). It was a lovely mix of rustic and contemporary style and we enjoyed our brief stay here (just a few nights). The personal finishing touches to the property make it special.

  • Liked — The tasteful, yet simple, touches to the room
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank UK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#17 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront ...
#21 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Cottage

Property: Stone Cottage
Address: Cnr Harker and Odland Streets, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, resting on a hill overlooking Plettenberg Bay’s beautiful beaches, from the Outeniqua mountains to the Robberg peninsula, Stone Cottage has stood watching over time and tide for over a century. Passionately restored, this historic guesthouse offers comfortable suites for discerning travellers who welcome a unique and authentic experience. Stone Cottage has been a warm & welcoming home on the road for guests, enjoying the relaxed, eclectic elegance of this iconic home. Filled with reclaimed treasures, art, memorabilia & a sense of humour, this venue has been a retreat for many who have found solace in Stone Cottage’s quietly quirky & creative atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing