We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at the Grand for two nights on our honeymoon in September 2013.

We were made a fuss of because it was our honeymoon and given the wonderful bath house room which was a real treat. The hotel comes with many of the touches and service that you associate with really great boutique hotels.

Ate both evening meals as well as breakfast here and everything that we had was excellent along with the service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    94
    25
    15
    15
See reviews for
36
248
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Was really looking forward to our stay at the Grand Café and rooms following a recommendation. The rooms are very cool and shabby chic but just feel a little rough around the edges. The bathroom for starters, the shower water goes everywhere and the toilet is not separate. Also the restaurant service was very slow, my bernaise sauce was hollandaise from a jar. I would still recommend a one night stay as it has a lot of charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

had a fantastic experience the staff very helpful and very pleasant nothing was a bother. we had the bathhouse and i loved the whole look atmosphere of it, very romantic. skinny dipping in own pool. the views from the terrace overlooking the ocean surrounded by beautiful birds. also at end of main street so very quiet but near to everything

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Imelda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The view,staff,rooms,food,location and styling were all so perfect for us. It had been put together with a fantastic eye for scruffy chic, amazing and quirky with a contemporary gothic feel throughout.
The staff were so helpful and kind they made our stay. They always went the extra mile and took all the hard work out of organising trips/booking restaurants etc and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast and all the food in the restaurant was gorgeous,the wine list was great and I will definitely return. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice Restaurant, beautiful view over the sea, personal and kind service,
we lked this Hotel very much, it was a comfortable and pleasant stay there and we can recommend it very well. It is located at the main street, very central. Private car parking is available.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bayoblg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked at The Grand as a surprise for my husband for our anniversary. It was super-romantic - we had champagne delivered to us, seriously delicious dinner in their fabulous dining room and our room had a balcony overlooking the bay. Stunning! And thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our only regret is that we only stayed one night and the weather was not great.
We stayed in the Bathhouse which was a delight. Firstly we had secure off street parking right next to the room. The room had a small courtyard at the front which led into a very quirky room. the décor I would describe as contemporary gothic style, with twin roll top baths side by side, a huge metal framed bed all looking out onto your own private patio with swimming pool.
All the usual amenities-free wifi, cable tv, minibar. Really friendly helpful staff.
The restaurant was excellent with great value dining with good wine and great food. Breakfast was equally good and we took it on the balcony overlooking Plett beach -another really cool space and fab view.
Definitely a room for romantic couples with candles throughout, very atmospheric.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SJBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Property: Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Café & Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing