We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Dream”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Short & Sweet.
My Absolute dream hotel.
this place is out of this world, it is decorated to perfection, it is pure romance.
We stayed here for 3 nights on our Honeymoon and boy was i blown away.
We stayed in room 6, massive massive room.
Hotel staff are so lovely, and feel over backwards for us.
I said to my husband, that if ever in my life he wants to take me somewhere for dreams, take me back here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toolerbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDamePlett, General Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is certainly heart warming to receive positive comments about your stay and your experience with our caring staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and creating new dreams...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    98
    26
    15
    15
See reviews for
38
253
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the most relaxing, awesome stay with great service and fantastic food. The view and rooms are spacious and cool. The staff are ready to help with every need.
thanks v much we will defi be back.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Loved it! Great rooms, great location with lovely view of the bay. Friendly staff, excellent food. Only there one night but wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely return. No car park but street parking right outside so not a problem. Would definitely recommend to those who like romantic stays in small boho chic hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill-ferndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here on our drive back from Sibuya Safari as it was a midway point from Kenton on Sea and Capetown .
This place was Uber Chic right down to the towel's .
We had 'the Bath House ' and wow were we impressed with our very own plunge pool. With Twin side by side bath tub's this room or should i say honey moon suite had the lot !!!!
No Wifi in the rooms but when u enter the Cafe / Restaurant u are soon on the net (gotta keep FB updated ) !!!
The view from the restaurant is amazing and so is the food ( and Cocktails for $6 aussie dollars ) . The Grand was Quirky Luxury at it's best an a high light of our drive on the "Garden Route"

Room Tip: I would class the Bath House as a Honey moon Suite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussielovesaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed on Christmas day 2012 for two days and very much enjoyed the wonderful old fashioned and somewhat quirky style of this hotel. We stayed in room 6 and 5. Room 5 is on the small side and has a floor standing fan which is somewhat noisy, but on the plus side there is a lovely private balcony. Room 6 is glorious with wooden shutter windows that open to view off the bay, the bed is huge and you need a stool to climb up to it, the bath is situated in front of the window, there is also a huge double shower. Floors are concrete with rugs, sofas and stools are dotted around along with candelabras. The room is very well equipped with hair dryer, TV and DVD player - there is library downstairs which has a good range of films to borrow. Rooms have snack jars, Nespresso coffee machines and a night a sachet of sleep gel is placed on your pillow. The hotel also has the best robes - cool egyptian cotton one size fits all, cover up white gown - amazingly comfortable.


Reception staff at the hotel are fantastic they knew we travelling on Christmas Day so contacted us in advance to find out if we wanted supper as there would be very few other restaurants open - a nice gesture and we had a lovely supper on the terrace over looking the bay, there was only one waiter on duty who was lovely but a little run of his feet as he single handedly managed bar and restaurant - but it was Christmas and we were in no hurry !

Food is good bistro style and we ate both supper and breakfast which was lovely. The hotel also has a library with books, games and dvds for you use as well as small pool

The only downside is parking is on the street which can be a bit risky.

Would very much recommend this hotel for a relaxing , get away, kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Room 6 is delightful, room 5 is rather small. There is also a room with a private pool so check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was like stepping back to 1930's Paris in decor and ambience. We had Room 6 , which was large with a stunning view of the bay and lagoon, a comfortable lounge area and a double shower and wash basins. There was an enormous bed with huge pillows and cushions and a large free standing barth in front of the window complete with candlelabra. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of little extras were provided such as sleep gel and snacks.The hotel was very convenient for the town but parking was on the street. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was cold but the manager was very apologetic. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0le24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Grand Cafe & Rooms was a great place to enjoy Plettenberg Bay. Unfortunately for us the day we traveled to Plett Bay was the tail end of a particularly bad storm. A nice gesture was that the manager was concerned for our safety on the road. She had spent some time trying to call us to see if we were OK and to update us on the state of the local roads. We stayed in the massive Room 6 with a great view out to sea. There was a considerable amount of very good little touches that made a difference. Such as hot water bottles to warm up your bed on the colder nights. Since we were in Plett Bay off season there wasn’t that much open. Therefore we did try their breakfast, lunch and dinner over our two night stay. Every meal was great in the lovely dinning room. During breakfast there was spectacular views out to sea and in the evening the roaring fire kept you warm. The receptionist gave us some great tips to do in the local area when the weather is poor.

Room Tip: Room Six is great. Great views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Property: Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing