We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you have never taken the time to stay or visit this property, you really are missing out!! The tranquil setting of the hotel on one of the most magnificent estates where immaculately kept paddocks in which leisurely grazing polo ponies roam sets the scene. Hospitality comes easily to the staff and one relaxes comfortably into the Kurland way of life. Children of all ages are catered for and loft rooms fully equipped with small dressing gowns, little beds, story books and toys makes this an ideal destination for family stays.

After a long day a glass of wine before dinner on the verandah in front of a warm glowing fire was a welcome relief to a friend and me. Dinner was scrumptious and the menu full of imagination.

All this aside one of my personal favourites was that all Crags attractions and beaches (Plett and Natures Valley) were in easy proximity but, the hotel was away from the swarms that mob the Garden Route during the busy season. Furthermore the ability to wake up and go for a morning run/walk/cycle/horse ride from ones front door before breakfast was a treat!

I would highly recommend a visit – go see for yourself!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    19
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
68
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

As soon as we drove down the manicured drive way we knew this was going to be a special place. It has a very colonial / English / Dutch feel ... If that makes sense ! Most of all incredibly homely and welcoming which is why I resist calling it a hotel - that would do it a disservice . The food is some of the best we have ever eaten ( and at a remarkably good price) , the service on another level ( the ability of the staff to know what you want without asking ) and the accomodation ... Well I can't even think of a word to describe it ... Sensational ! We were on our honeymoon and each night they set up a candle lit dinner in the library for us .. This may sound contrived but it wasn't at all ... Just perfect. When we arrived we thought we would probably eat in the first night but venture out the others ... The food was so incredible that we didn't eat out once ! One day they even made us a picnic when we went to watch the polo which was so well thought through and not a ham sandwich in sight ! The staff were just brilliant and put together suggestions for us ... Our favourite was the walk around Roberg Bay - amazing but be careful as very steep on the side of the cliffs. it is no wonder Kurland has the reviews it so deserves and I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this place to anyone heading to Plett - in fact give Plett a miss altogether and hole up here for a few days ... !!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniejayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Arriving at Kurland Hotel was like stepping into another world. The drive from Cape Town was a pleasure in itself. What appealed to me the most was its old world charm, years of layering and natural grace. The staff were exceptional and they somehow always seemed to be on hand just when you needed them. The suites were beyond my expectation, they were simply enormous, luxurious and so tastefully decorated, a combination you just don't find anymore in new hotels. Dining at Kurland was an absolute treat and a nice touch was to meet the Chef personally who was genuinely interested in our comments. Family friendly too, the estate is enormous so privacy is ensured.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelInspector058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We booked kurland on recommendation as a relaxing place that would be child friendly. It totally exceeded my expectations. It's basically a polo ranch with beautiful buggy friendly grounds and the rooms are stunning. We had an amazing 4 poster bed, log fire and a room upstairs for our baby. The bathroom was beautiful too.

The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and delightful to us on our stay and organised all sorts of requests for our 3 month old baby before we arrived including cot, kettle, babysitting etc.

Babysitting service is lovely if you want to enjoy a relaxed dinner in the beautiful restaurant and only just 2 mins away if you want to check on your little one.

I couldn't fault it at all and would love to return again for another amazing trip

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BordersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Excellent hotel, staff, location, food all wonderful. The suites are beautiful and the service is world-class. We felt incredibly welcome at every point, the manager urged us to make the most of the property by using the estate's quad bikes. Another time a groom took us out for a pony ride - all unexpected and unprompted! The waiting staff and chef also looked after us brilliantly. We would go back to South Africa for another visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I've stayed at some of the most acclaimed hotels in the world in over 30 countries, and this hotel is so far my absolute favorite. The property is gorgeous; the architecture is a beautiful rendition of the Cape Dutch style with beautiful gardens and acres of polo fields. The interior decorating is quaint and each room belongs in a style magazine because every detail is exquisite. The rooms are luxurious, with fantastic touches like heated headboards, lovely patios, spacious bathrooms so large that couches comfortably fit inside, bookshelves covering the walls, and cozy fireplaces that make the rooms feel homey. The common spaces are equally beautiful and each corner has an amazing antique piece that makes the hotel truly special. We couldn't take enough pictures of the Kurland, as we didn't want to forget any of it and wanted to use if for inspiration for our own decorating purposes for our next home.

The food is great too, and it was surprisingly inexpensive, given the caliber of the hotel and the quality of the cuisine. The breakfast is one of the best we've had anywhere, and as New Yorkers, we take food, and especially brunch, very seriously! Also, the spa was great, and for a Relais and Chauteaux property, it was a surprisingly good value.

As though all this isn't enough to make the Kurland standout, the part of the hotel that was most impressive was the service. Everyone was overwhelmingly friendly and seemed to guess our very need before we ever asked, while there was always staff accessible and checking up on us, but it never felt intrusive or stuffy. Everyone who worked at the hotel was friendly, intelligent, knowledgeable and charming and genuinely loved the hotel and its beautiful grounds. More than anywhere I've ever stayed, the staff at the Kurland was so excited to give advice for our entire South Africa trip, even parts of the country far from the Kurland, that one man even printed out maps of the winelands for the end of our South Africa vacation since he knew that region very well from going to college in Stellenbosch and made detailed notes of the best vineyards, and an ordering of when to visit each, to make sure our South Africa trip was flawless. Or one of the waiters heard me mention that I missed drinking fresh iced tea, since it isn't served in South Africa and therefore wasn't on the Kurland menu, and they made just for me the most delicious iced tea with fresh mint added just to accommodate the particular craving. It was the perfect stay!

As for the area, the Kurland was by far our favorite part of the Garden Route and we actually wish we did fewer activities and just enjoyed the hotel more. When you do leave the hotel, I definitely recommend seeing the beach at Nature's Valley and also we LOVED our private walk at Chitwa Cheetah Sanctuary with two baby cheetahs. The town of Plett was not so impressive, but the beach there was pretty (but not as much as nature's valley), and the Elephant Sanctuary trunk-in-hand was touristy, but nonetheless still very enjoyable. The Knysna heads were pretty and worth a visit, but the town of Knysna was touristy and disappointing, and I recommend skipping the bird sanctuary and monkeyland (disappointing and painfully touristy) in the Crags.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We arrived at Kurland 1 January 2009 and what a way to start a new year. A very friendly man greated us the moment we stepped out of the car and we were welcomed and given a tour of the hotel. The hotel only has 12 rooms and I must say that this place feels much more like a homestay than a regular hotel but without in any way compromising the level of service provided. The accommodation was nice but what makes this place special is the nature surrounding it and the amazing service where the staff's response to every request was "we'll make it happen" and all the staff were such pleasant and sociable people.

On our first night we had a private dinner in the library with candles and a fire in the fire place, it was absolutely divine. There was a wonderful kids club with several nice attendants looking after the children and my son had so much fun there. The hotel's quad bikes was also a treat and we had a lot of fun riding around the hotel's expansive grounds and we even watched a polo game.

This is the perfect place for a family with young children to relax, unwind and enjoy beautiful nature and good times together. However this is not the ideal place if you're looking for a fantastic pool scene or quick access to the beach but it was perfect for our family!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romejune2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
7.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Property: Kurland Hotel
Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing