We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely super, brilliant, A1”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2007

As a family with two young tenagers, this turned out to be a super place to stay and relax. Leon who met us on arrival set the scene by telling us to treat the palce like home - whnever we wanted to eat, eat. No strict dress code. Nothing was a hassle here. Horse riding when you wnated to, use of the quad bikes when you were in the humour, all set within the 'confines' of a 700hectare polo farm.

The main house, where you have your meals and the main pool, is very relaxed with loads of areas to sit around the fire or weather permitting on the covered veranda overlooking the pool.

The rooms are gorgeous and very tastefully decorated - (This is not a minimilists location) we had half a house on its own grounds with the kids upstairs by a separtae entrance with a magnificent bedroom for us downstairs and our own pool on our veranda.

While we were here, in early January, it rained for the 3 days we were here but it did nothing to dampen our enthusiaism for the place and the staff who were extreemly helpful - something we found in SA in general. There's loads to do in the area as well, you are just on the edge of Tsitsitakama national park which has some magnificent scenary and walks for all grades of outdoor types. You area slo beside Plattenberg and about 40 mins from Knysna

All of our meals were extreemly good and again available whenever you choose. One of the party is vegetarian and again there was a great sellection. They operate a defined menu each evening but if you want something else, just ask and its no problem.

Overall - super and yes we would recommend it to all travelers and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2004

My wife and I have traveled for a month a year for the last 5 years. This year was Africa. We used a company called Africa Safari Consultants in Montecito, CA. They recommended Kurland at The Crags, just East of Plettenberg Bay on the Indian Ocean. This is a Polo Ranch that is owned by one of the financial people for the Oppenheimer family (think diamonds). They have 12 cottages that are amazing. We were there in September and were the only people there. In November, the start of the polo season, it's a different story. If you are in the Garden Route outside of the polo season, this is a wonderful place. I thought I was in the Presedential Suite of the White House!

6  Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquem nos Padocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, General Manager at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juli52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, General Manager at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank galispin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, General Manager at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Clara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, General Manager at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
91
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, General Manager at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
10.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
573 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
7.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
24.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $355 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing