We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing -apart from the bikes!”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a fabulous place. The staff were very friendly, room was excellent and the food was good quality. There are great touches like the afternoon tea and cakes, the quad bikes available to explore the estate and the fire lit in your room in the evening. Everything about it was superb, apart from the state of the bicycles. The estate is amazing and we would have liked to have cycled around it. However, the bicycles are not maintained and proved dangerous, we abandoned use after our son fell off within a couple of minutes.
Would recommend, but Kurland please sort out the unsafe bicycles.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank FandJ_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friend and I went for an relaxing night and it turning out to be a superb experience where we were spoilt with fantastic service and food, where where all the staff were professional, charming and welcoming. No request was too much trouble. The room was spacious, elegant and with the finest linen enormous bathroom and decor of an international standard. This quality extended into the dining experience and exquisite rose garden which is set in a landscape with horses trees and infinite rolling lawns.

As a well travelled person I found Kurland up there with one the best places to visit, a definite for your bucket list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATIA407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We - a family of five with an 18mth old girl and two boys aged 11 and 13 - have just had a fabulous four days at Kurland, and absolutely hope to return one day. There was so much to do on and off site!

Kurland is about 5mins drive away from birds of eden and Monkeyland (both excellent), as well as an elephant sanctuary and big cats sanctuary. And Nature's Valley - which has some gorgeous beaches to visit is about 10mins drive (and were almost totally empty of people despite glorious weather). We didn't get around to the bunjee jumping or sky diving that are also near by... maybe next time! And they're about twenty minutes from Plett Bay, for which the owner (who was not at all aloof as one review suggested) gave us some restaurant recommendations for the one night we went out (can recommend the italian he suggested although can't recall the name...).

But despite all that surrounds Kurland, we spent more time at Kurland itself than out! The boys were well entertained with tennis and cricket, as well as free use of bikes and quad bikes (but got to be over 16 to drive) around the estate. We also headed out horse riding for an hour or so, again just within the estate - it is huge and beautiful. We had dinner at Kurland for three of the four nights we stayed, and were very impressed - the fine dining was just that (although only three main choices each night (meat / fish / veg), might be hard for the fussy, but it is a small restaurant), and the kids were very happy too (their menu range was huge!). The older ones ate with us in the dining room (and the hotel arranged for a lovely babysitter called Heloise to watch our youngest each night), and our little girl ate earlier at a big old table in the kitchen itself - they are very welcoming, "Come in to the kitchen, you're our guests, go wherever you please!" kind of attitude!

Our room was very large - a main bedroom downstairs, with an astonishingly large bathroom, and the boys had a twin room upstairs with their own bathroom. A log fire welcomed us back each night. In fact log fires welcomed us wherever we went - breakfast, dinner, drinks, the library, tea on the veranda... wonderful!

We thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After traveling for more than 24 hours, we arrived at the relaxing and lovely resort. The interior was old fashion and authentic. We enjoyed two whole days here playing tennis, exercising, driving four wheelers, biking around the lodge and relaxing. The food was amazing and the staff was very helpful with regards to service and helping us booking activities and outside restaurants. The area is surrounded by several day-activities, such as whale safari, monkey parks and botanical gardens. If you are in the Plettenberg area, this is a hotel you need to visit!

Room Tip: The rooms all had their individual touch and you will be happy with whatever room you will get. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The owners although visible and present did not engage with guests at all, were aloof and quite frankly conspicuous by their snobbish behaviour and reminisant of a bygone age! Not a good call. How sad this was when compared to other boutique hotels we had the pleasure of visiting during our tour of the garden route. The gardens were in need of some professional attention, poisonous aconite "monkshood" were growing in abundance close to the well furnished accommodation. The swimming pool and outdoor areas were in need of attention with floating debris and leaves that could easily have been removed on a regular basis had there been a resident gardener. The house staff were a delight and made up for the owners indifference. The location is remote from Plettenberg but good for Natures Valley, a must, the elephant sanctuary and the birds of eden - all very worthwhile. Not a must go to hotel due to its rather crusty atmosphere and certainly the worst experience out of the six hotels we had the pleasure of visiting!!

Room Tip: stay in the newer blocks located on the left hand side of the estate as viewed from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the best kept secret in South Africa! One of the most beautiful estates I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. I was not disappointed by any aspect of the facilities, food and service. Nestled in an amphitheatre of mountains, a stone's throw from the sea, too wonderful for words!

Room Tip: All the accomodation is superior. Trust your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Thank you Kurland for another absolutly wonderful few days of pure heaven. Your attention to detail makes it such an incredible experience,and your standards never fluctuate. I am already really looking forward to being back in January for another dose of spoiling!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sabrina-2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
7.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $362 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing