We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best spa location I have ever visited. The staff were friendly and helpful. The spa therapists were very professional. The lunch we ordered was very nice. All in all a very good experience. Bookings is a must for lunch/dinner and the menu is quite limited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnePret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent four nights at Plettenberg Hotel as part of our honeymoon in March 2013 (7-11).
The Hotel is gorgeous, the view over the bay from the pool stunning. We had a lovely and warm welcome and generally an excellent service from all staff. I would defintely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alesbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a place to come to for an utterly unique experience. Perched atop a hillside, with a dramatic view of crashing waves. We stayed in June, so wintertime, and perhaps that was one reason why we were the only guests. Naturally we got first-rate service. But the sight of staff was rare: we almost felt as if we literally owned the place, since it was so secluded—and so empty—that it felt as if it was our private mansion or seaside getaway. Such a tucked-away location, in fact, that our GPS found it impossible to get us there. When finally, after multiple calls to the place, we came to the gate and announced our arrival, we knew we had come to an exclusive hotel. Some unique features: the breathtaking view of nature in its raw state; the chic infinity pool; the all-glass shower; spacious rooms oozing luxury; a secluded pebbled beach; and breakfast outside with wind, sun and water. Definitely worth a visit…

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the water, so you can't go wrong...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Where do I start....

1) Hygiene : no matter what star hotel, you should always expect to have clean towels, robes etc. this place claims to be 5 star and regularly recycled "DIRTY BEACH TOWELS, ROBES AND DISPOSABLE SLIPPERS"

2) FOOD : DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!! TERRIBLE!!!!!

3) Staff : Frontline staff are friendly and hard working.... But...... This is like Fawlty Towers!!! No matter how hard these guys try, thing will not improve until management step up and fix the real issues here.

4) Location and appearance : based on the websites, the place looks amazing.....It is built on a cliff with an amazing view, private beach, nice accommodation. However, when you arrive, the private beach is nothing like photos advertised on the internet sites suggest's and the place looks worn, torn and managed badly.

Personal experiences were not good. We booked a double suite and got given a twin suite without explanation. We had to pre order dinner and the food was served straight from a heated oven or microwave. Breakfast was limited and simple things such as bread ran out early.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyndseyMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon, and I would strongly recommend this hotel. The staff were very helpful and flexible while at the sametime out of your way when you wlak around. The hotel has i think 9 rooms only, hence providing a very open and private stay. My wife has already requested we book here again for our 1st anniversary.

brilliant place, with great views, good service, flexible menu which is discussed with you every day (both lunch and dinner) and the chef changes to fit your requirements... loved our stay here...

highly recommended..Mr & Mrs Njogu

Room Tip: I was in room 210, with a shower facing the ocean... brilliant.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njogu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a fantastic few days at Plettenberg Park Hotel in earlt December 2012. The entire team provided outstanding service and hospitality to us. Carla, Didi, Kyle and all the Michelle's were exceptional and really show that top service is what makes a hotel great.

We had outside guests around on our second last night for dinner for 11 and the evening was a huge success. All your staff were professional, helpful and fun !

All this with the most stunning views possible.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea facing
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosties5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an overnight stay here at the Plettenberg Park and Spa travelling along the Garden Route. This hotel is perched on top of a hill and just the main entrance was a bit tricky to find. You just drive up a gravel path which leads up to the hotel. The surrounding area is well-kept and of course the view from the lobby and outdoor terrace is breath-taking! I mean you have such an amazing view to the ocean and peeking over the railing you see the waves crashing against the rocks way beneath you. We were lucky with the weather and since it was not super peak season yet, we had the whole outdoor terrace to ourselves! We just chilled with some bubbly and had lunch on the terrace just taking in the view. We had booked a sea facing room and the room was huge with a sitting area with couches and a fireplace with a king sized bed. The décor was modern maritime and flowed with the look of the whole hotel. The bathroom was of a decent size and came with a shower and bathtub. Walking out into our balcony, we were shocked to see how huge the balcony was! They had two sun lounges there and you still had lots of room and they could have easily put a small table and 2 chairs there which I thought was missing. Since you get the amazing sun set view from your balcony, we decided to lay on the lounges and see the sun set while hearing the waves crashing beneath us with a glass of wine. It just does not get better than this! Breakfast next morning was good with a selection of cold food and a warm dish that you can order to your liking from the menu. If you feel like it, you can just walk out the main entrance and on the left is a trail which brings you to the top of the cliff which offers an even better view from above. Remember to bring your walking shoes of course and you can also walk down the cliff to the hotel’s private beach if you feel like just lying down and getting a suntan. Service was excellent throughout and when we came back from dinner that night, the room was turned-down and the fireplace was lit and the room prepared for the evening! We switched off the fireplace of course since it was not that cold but a few brownie points for being proactive. The biggest selling point is of course the view and setting of the hotel right on top of the cliff. Overall I would rate the hotel very good and not excellent only because of the price which is a bit on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
912 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $74 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing