We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
94
19
11
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
19
11
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach glass shower sea facing room was beautifully decorated sound of the waves stayed for two nights amazing views luxury
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 139 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed for three nights at Plettenberg park in February.

The reviews which say that the hotel is tired are accurate. It was clearly designed and refurbished about 10 years ago. As it is all very pale and white the furnishings in both the rooms and the central area are looking grubby, and in some cases are frayed and have holes in them - as the previoous reviewer noted - not particularly what you expect from a five star hotel.

The views however are amazing, and if you want somewhere to relax then this is the place. There is no cellphone reception at all at the hotel, the rooms are huge, and if it is cool you have a living flame fire in your room to cosy up to.

The pool is small and has no views. You also need to bear in mind that you will be nearly 5km from the nearest restaurant - so unless you want to pay for taxis (approx 200 rand round trip.) or drive - then you will be eating at the hotel - and when we were there that could have meant eating on your own one night.

I would not however recommend staying unless you are prepared to upgrade to a seaview room - it is the five star aspect to this hotel - without it the hotel would be seriously overpriced.

Date of stay: February 2007
4  Thank JLS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

We got married and stayed a few nights at Plettenberg Park. It is located just outside Plettenberg. Upon arrival you have to make a call to the main building for them to open the gates for you. The views are spectacular. Our room was nr:210, the honeymoonsuite. Decor is all wood and white linen with african and a bit of asian influence. The is no cellphone reception available at the hotel's location,so your sort of cut off. There is however a regular phone that you can use in your room. We stayed 5 nights and never did the chef discuss our dinner options with us as mentioned on their website. Dinner was magnificent though. Their breakfasts are also very nice. We used the jacuzzi and staff lit candles for us,but we never got any sparkling wine (as mentioned on website). Staff are all very nice and eager to help whenever. The only thing that bothered me once was when we came back from a day of sightseeing and had to call to the main house to open the gates,nobody answered. We were stuck outside the gates for 15 minutes and very tired. We eventually called a farm nearby that also shares that gate and informed them we are hotel guests and nobody is answering the phone.....Another thing about the hotel is that the condition of the furniture is not the best...In the reception area there is a chair where the springs are literally hanging out from underneath it and in the lounge area the chairs have big brown stains and burn marks on them. You have to be 100% blind not to see it. Not very five star. We enjoyed our stay there but would not give this hotel 5 stars. It was highly overpriced for what we actually received. I have stayed in many 5 star places and I feel Plettenberg Park has potential but it needs to pay attention to detail and keep up with promises.

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whatsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

Stayed 2 nights at the end of September. Had the corner room on the upper floor, overlooking the ocean. Even our shower had a view.

Our room was outstanding, breakfast on the terrace was lovely and the location is truly memorable - just a shame the dinner we had failed to live up to its pretensions. The chef obviously has high ambitions without the skill to match.

That said, we'd be more than happy to go back and just go for dinner somewhere else in Plett.

Date of stay: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ardbroilach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: vue mer évidemment
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews