We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel in the Mountains.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Hotel in the Mountains.......”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

On this trip we decided to try something new, my sister and I love spas so we went on the net to look for good spa and hotel that was by sea that the prices were reasonable and in western Cape and we found the Pletterberg Park Hotel and Spa. At first we not sure if we shold go or not reason being that we never even heared of a town called Plettenberg until we saw the hotel on the net and boy it was worth it, our room had a beautiful sea view and you could hear the waves heating against the rock below it beautiful.It also has a really good resturant that i will advice anyone who was in Plettenberg to give it a try it worth it. So if ever in Plettenberg, the Plettenberg Park Hotel and Spa is the place to be.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viagante2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
91
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

What can one say about a place that completely blows your mind from the minute you arrive?... One word comes to mind. Exceptional! From the our arrival to our departure we were treated like movie stars! Our welcome by Kerry and Tyler was genuine, and it felt like they REALLY wanted us there! Then we took a step inside.... WOW is all I can say. Of all the hotels I have visited throughout the world, this one beats all of them hands down on the view you experience from ALL over the hotel! Dramatic sea views abound! Couple this with the tasteful decor and furnishings, and you start to imagine how life should be lived!
But it gets better! Our room. Its own private balcony with the same dramatic views. and a bathroom with a floor to ceiling glass surround! You feel exposed and invigorated at the same time! Incredible!
We found the staff to be friendly, and passionate about the hotel. The manager, Hector really led his team by example. He really made good on the promise "to exceed guest expectations" he made in the letter he wrote to us when we arrived. He also cooks a fantastic meal!
I can go on and on... what a place, what an experience. I will be back next year! Count me in!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

On our trip along the Garden Route we also were in the Plettenburg Park Hotel. The location is very dramatic on top of a cliff above the sea. Access is a bit difficult, you actually have to leave Plettenburg and drive a dirt way through a fenced natural park to arrive at the hotel.

The rooms are ample and comfortably fitted. In fact this is the first hotel were I was content to stay in my room for most of the day. There is everything you need in place, just sit on the balcony and observe the waves crashing intonthe coast. Especially impressing was the shower (in room 209). It is very spacious and two of the walls are transparent, allowing an unhindered view over the cliff and the sea. However, there is no chance anybody can see you.

Food was good, prices reasonable. The motivation of the staff was sometimes less than optimal, but still in an acceptable range.

The hotel claimed to offer internet access throughout, however, I was not able to find a wireless LAN in the room or in the lobby. Since it was Christmas time, I did not care much.

This is a very quite hotel with only 10 rooms. You will rarely hear anything from other guests, there is no bar or meeting place. Mosts guests we saw were in their thirties.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffzahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We were looking forward to a relaxing 4 days at Plettenberg Park at the end of our holiday. The hotel is in a wonderful cliff top location and feels very exclusive (if you can get past it looking like a big concrete block), but it doesn't live up to it's promise. The spa was closed for two of the four days we were due to be there. The so-called 'personalised cuisine' meant having to decide at breakfast if you'd be there for dinner, and at 6pm being asked to chose from a fairly standard (but expensive) menu what you wanted to eat (the food was very tasty when we had it, but not worth the money) later that evening. The promise to be able to eat whatever, whenever you wanted also didn't materialise. When we wanted a snack having missed lunch the day we arrived at 3pm, we were offered toasted sandwiches only. The breakfast was fine, but having stayed in guest houses for the rest of our trip, didn't match up to their standards (juice was clearly from a carton, bread from a supermarket loaf, cereal was branflakes or cornflakes). The hotel was practically empty (2 of the 10 rooms occupied), but no attempt was made to help make it feel more cosy. This was all topped off by terrible handling of our complaint. The on-site manageress was not able to deal with our complaint herself, and had to call through to head office. The operations manager who appeared the next morning at least understood our issues and agreed we could leave a day early without charge, but again when we asked for a reduced room rate for the nights we had stayed considering the lack of offered services, he also needed to consult back with head office. Despite promising to come and see us in two hours with a response, we heard nothing. On checking out the next day they had deducted around 10% off the rate (not nearly enough in my opinion considering the terrible value for money) but anyone with any seniority were no one to be seen for further discussion. A five star hotel this is not. Such a shame because with a strong management running it, it has potential to be fantastic. (It's also a shame that the beautiful infinity pool is cold water).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFW38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed for new year at the above hotel, and stayed in room 210 - was just fantastic. We are quite picky about standards in hotels, and like good service by great people, but are quite laid back with staff, and the staff here were FAB!

Its a young team, and Kevin who I believe runs the FOH show (or seems to!) is very efficient and leads a team of thoroughly enthuiastic staff.

Room 210 has the shower that has the big glass windows - which is great until a helicoptor flies past - you just smile and wave! It seems to be a lot larger than the other rooms, and the decor is wonderful. Pale blues; ocean colours. We could have lived in there. Marks on (cream) sofas that have been mentioned before, just pales into the wonderful view that is your room.

The chef, again, a very calm chap, but so enthuastic about food. You need to book in the day before for your dinner, but it is wonderful. He also wants your feedback. He wants to know what you thought of it!! I thought this was a good touch, and great for his development.

Downside - taxi's - you're quite far out. Try not to get the crazy taxi driver we did - bless him! Wonderful stories though!
The bill - check your bill. <msg to hotel - you need to get hotter on this!)
Other people - why are people so miserable when you go on holiday? Just say hello! It doesn't hurt!

Apart from that, the views are great, the smell of the sea....drinking your wine as the sun goes down and meets the sea....the wind in your hair. See I'm back there again....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2010

After a long day of traveling, my partner and I were several days into our 2-week South African vacation when we arrived at the Plettenberg Park, a hotel suggested and booked by our travel agent back home. Weary and slightly on-edge, we drove through the gated entrance and around the wooded bend, and were met at the building’s entrance by a smiling, gracious young man holding two glasses of champagne. Kevin greeted each of us personally, handed us our glasses, and told us to simply follow him inside. The car and luggage would be taken care of. We immediately relaxed, and we knew at that moment that we were in for an amazing stay!

We were shown around the hotel’s beautiful grounds, then to our unbelievable suite (Room 210), where our bags were dropped off. We had arrived rather late and hadn’t had dinner. Even while we were prepared to run back into town and grab some snacks to hold us until morning, we received a call from the head chef asking about our menu preferences for dinner. Although it was time for the kitchen to close, the hotel arranged for us to enjoy a wonderful meal before retiring to bed. Totally unexpected and so appreciated!

Overall, the service provided by Kevin and the staff was top-notch!! We loved our room and the hotel so much that we amended our travel itinerary (we were only booked for one night) and stayed for another night. Yes, it was definitely pricey, but so worth it! We were treated like family, and we enjoyed getting to know the friendly staff. Each day we felt invigorated by the crashing waves below the hotel, the tasteful decor, and the luxurious room we retired to each night. Breakfasts were deliciously prepared, and we opted for another fantastic dinner at the hotel for our second night. We enjoyed the meals so much, we selfishly tried to lure the chef to New York so we could enjoy his cooking more often. Alas, no luck! :-)

We’ll definitely be back! Such top-notch accommodations and service are rarely found, and even now we talk about the Plettenberg Park as our South African “home away from home”. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UES_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Plettenberg Park hotel has been without any doubt the highlight of our vacation in respect to location, service and comfort. The hotel is situated on a cliff within a national park and is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The hotel is overall very comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean. The rooms are very spacious and spotless clean, decorated with taste in nice soft beach tone colours. The beds are very comfortable and big. If you have one of the corner sea view rooms you can enjoy a shower with a 180 degrees view over the ocean on top of a cliff - a real experience. The service in the hotel has been unmatched during our vacation. It is excellent. One very nice touch is the chef discussing diner with you during breakfast to personalise it and cook it to your liking. A nice thing when you get back from an exciting day. Food overall is of a very high standard. This hotel is a real recommendation for anyone that enjoys comfort, high standards, tranquillity and top service. The Spa is also a real recommendation. Overall waking up with the sound of waves on the cliffs below and getting pampered all the way through makes this a stay you will never forget., A real jewel in the Plettenberg area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
855 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing