We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bosavern Guest House
Ranked #15 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Viv & Gerald were the perfect hosts - friendly and welcoming - and the attention to detail in every aspect of this small guest house is so impressive. The 5 letting rooms are all of a comparable standard with spacious light and airy accommodation. There are lovely views over the bay and an easy walk to the small town centre.

Room Tip: All the five rooms are of a similar (very high) standard and four open directly onto the pool / terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 350 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my second stay at Bosavern, this time with my granddaighter. We were given pick of the rooms last time i stayed downstairs in a lovely room opening onto the swimming pool. This time we were in a room on the ground floor with a beautiful bathroom and a wet room style shower. We arrived earler than expected having come by taxi from George airport. Altho' they were out for lunch Viv came back to let us in and welcomed us with tea and biscuits. Our travel plans had to change and Viv could not have been more helpful with advice and rearranging transport. Bosavern is a good 15 minutes walk down hill to the coast but Ralph's taxis are inexpensive and reliable. We had our evening meals at Ghillies and Craig the owner even took us back to Bosavern in his car. I can't wait to revisit Plett and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Bosavern for a few nights over New Years while we were in Plett visiting friends. Gerald and Viv are very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and very well kept. I especially liked the large bathroom with a wet room style shower. The breakfast was nice, served on the balcony overlooking the pool and a stunning view of the mountains and the beach. The location was perfect for us, a little out of the centre but close enough for a short drive or leisurely walk in, and coincidentally just down the road from our friend's house!

In short, I can't really fault anything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had been told that Plettenberg was among the most (if not THE most) beautiful places in South Africa. I would have to agree. And what better way to enjoy the bay than with views and peaceful surrounds? The hosts are the epitomy of welcoming and helped in every way possible. Rooms were comfy, breakfasts yummy and the location ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chanced upon Bosavern after a long drive from Coffee Bay and couldn’t be happier that we did! After originally planning on staying for one night and moving on, we decided to stay for three!

The guesthouse is modern and beautiful with great views of the beach below, and the rooms are terrific: huge bathroom, king-size “sleep-on-a-cloud” beds, sliding doors that open up to the pool and deck.

The best parts about Bosavern though are its hosts. Viv and Gerald were unbelievable, willing to help us in planning everything from where to go for dinner to where to stop next on our road trip (and what to see on the way). Viv even gave me a much-needed pep talk before skydiving! (And was happy to give us her B&B discount at all local attractions)

We couldn’t recommend this guesthouse more, and would love to make it back!

Viv and Gerald we hope to see you again soon!

Ariel & Cailey

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar, but the downstairs rooms open up directly to the pool and deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this lovely guest house for 3 nights in the beginning of May. Viv and Gerald are the hosts and from the minute we arrived we were treated as if we were family. Bosavern is located on a hill overlooking Plettenberg and the ocean. The home is absolutely spotless and the rooms are large with private bathrooms, including a jacuzzi tub and huge shower. Each room has access to the deck and pool area.

Every morning we were treated to a full breakfast including our choice of eggs and the most wonderful croissants. In the evening when we returned from our day's outing Gerald and Viv were there to greet us with a drink and interesting conversation.

We highly recommend this beautiful guest house and if we were ever to return we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45,460,785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a modern and stylish, purpose built guest house, where the personal service provided by Viv and Gerald immediately made us feel at home. Travelling out of season meant we couldn't take advantage of the swimming pool situated a couple of metres from our room - the weather proved a little too wet and windy. Situated high on the hill above Plettenberg, the views were truly amazing, and always enjoyed during breakfast where every table has a sea view. Room facilities were good, with an enormous and well equipped en-suite bathroom / wet room. Each day on our return to the Guest House Viv would be ready and waiting with refreshments to welcome us back. Definitely recommended for couples in a quiet area away from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
la Vista Lodge
la Vista Lodge
#6 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosavern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosavern Guest House

Address: 38 Cutty Sark Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $130 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosavern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosavern Guest House is a stylish, upmarket guesthouse set on a cliff, offering spectacular views of the ocean, the pristine white Robberg Beach and peninsular Nature Reserve, and the green expanse of Plett Country Club. It has a 4 star Guest House Grading by the Grading Council of South Africa. Leisurely breakfasts are served on the patio overlooking the ocean. Lounge around our swimming pool or cool off in its clear water during the summer heat. The 6 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms have free Wi-fi, TVs with M-Net plus DVD players, fridges and tea/coffee trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bosavern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing