We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bosavern Guest House
Ranked #12 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a modern and stylish, purpose built guest house, where the personal service provided by Viv and Gerald immediately made us feel at home. Travelling out of season meant we couldn't take advantage of the swimming pool situated a couple of metres from our room - the weather proved a little too wet and windy. Situated high on the hill above Plettenberg, the views were truly amazing, and always enjoyed during breakfast where every table has a sea view. Room facilities were good, with an enormous and well equipped en-suite bathroom / wet room. Each day on our return to the Guest House Viv would be ready and waiting with refreshments to welcome us back. Definitely recommended for couples in a quiet area away from the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
237
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was guesthouse recommended to us by friends and did not disappoint. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Fabulous views from the breakfast room and gardens. Rooms were spotlessly clean although a little clinical. We had great breakfast served by very nice staff. It was still fairly quiet in Plett which we enjoyed. We imagine it would be extremely busy in high season so don't go if your looking for a quiet time by the sea! That said we really enjoyed exploring the local area helped by our hosts excellent local knowledge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorknomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the owner and shown to a luxurious, spotlessly clean and private room overlooking the wonderful garden and pool. The views of the coast line were superb. The breakfasts were terrific and our hosts' advice about the area was really great.
Our hosts were very friendly, accommodating and helpful.We were able to have a huge amount of washing collected - organised by them - essential when you're travelling internationally and for some months. Instead of staying for an initial 2 days, we extended to 3 because of the comfort and atmosphere.One of the best places we've stayed during our visit to South Africa. Thank you.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms, all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. The view over the bay (when the clouds cleared!) was spectacular and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The B&B is an ideal base for exploring Plett and the eastern end of the Garden Route. The rooms are clean and modern and breakfast was tasty and filling. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A few weeks ago, my wife and I stayed overnight at the Bosavern Guest House in Plettenberg Bay. Not our first trip to Plett as we had honeymooned at the Beacon Isle some 25 years earlier with a few visits between then and now. Bosavern is a lovely private guest house and was clean, attractive, and restful. The hosts, Viv and Gerald, greeted us at the door and were gracious and available during the stay. The guest house has a small patio and pool with an unobstructed breathtaking view Plettenberg Bay. The room was perfect: attractive, modern, spotlessly clean with a large modern bathroom and shower. Wireless Internet was complimentary. Security is excellent. The included breakfast was very adequate with nice hot and cold offerings and great coffee. Highly recommended and we would stay at Bosavern again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieseldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Bosavern at the end of March and can say without hesitation, that this was the best of the seven places we stayed in on our Garden Route trip.

The guest house was clean and modern with a crisp feel about it. Our bed was enormous! As noted by others the views are splendid, as was the hospitality of the owners. Ever helpful with tips on where to go & eat. We could easily have stayed longer if time had permitted.

It is worth noting that in our opinion most of the attractions serving Knysna, are actually closer to Plettenberg Bay.

So, for any visitor thinking of a stay in Plettenberg Bay, don't think twice about booking a room at Bosavern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsglobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the 'brilliant Bosavern', starting with a wonderful welcome from Viv and Gerald (the owners) who continued their warm hospitality throughout our visit to their wonderful Guest House. The view is really spectacular across Plettenberg Bay and there is no better way to have breakfast with stunning views to go with it. Whilst we were there my partner celebrated a 'milestone' birthday and Gerald took pictures of us in our birthday tshirts, which we wore that day on a boat trip. The staff also gave him a birthday card and Viv & Gerald invited us to pre-dinner drinks with them before we went out to dinner, which we really enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us with days out, booking restaurants and making us tea at the end of a long day out. We were sad to leave and Viv even packed us some snacks and drinks to take with us to our next destination, which was very much needed on our long drive. This really is the only place to stay whilst in Plettenberg and we can't wait to go back! David & Freda

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosavern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosavern Guest House

Property: Bosavern Guest House
Address: 38 Cutty Sark Ave, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosavern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosavern Guest House is a stylish, upmarket guesthouse set on a cliff, offering spectacular views of the ocean, the pristine white Robberg Beach and peninsular Nature Reserve, and the green expanse of Plett Country Club. It has a 4 star Guest House Grading by the Grading Council of South Africa. Leisurely breakfasts are served on the patio overlooking the ocean. Lounge around our swimming pool or cool off in its clear water during the summer heat. The 5 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms have private entrances and patios, TVs with M-Net and DVD players, telephones, honesty bars, under floor heating and tea/coffee trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bosavern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing